Jonathan Lipnick (Master)

Jonathan Lipnick (Master)

Doyen de la Faculté des études de la Terre sainte

Quelques mots pour me présenter...

Jonathan Lipnick croit qu’une compréhension vraiment complète des Écritures consiste à pénétrer sous les mots imprimés pour révéler le monde authentique de la Bible : les paysages, les odeurs et les sons de l’ancien Israël. Il est le doyen de la faculté des Études de la Terre sainte à l’Institut israélien d’études bibliques et l’auteur du cours « Exploration de la terre biblique d’Israël » ainsi que d’articles publiés sur le blog Études de la Terre sainte. Il est également co-auteur du programme d’études de grec biblique. Jonathan Lipnick est né et a grandi aux États-Unis. Sa fascination pour l’histoire biblique d’Israël a commencé lorsqu’il participa à une fouille archéologique à Tel Bet Shemesh, en 1999. Il eut alors la conviction que le monde de la Bible est un sujet qui doit être étudié de près afin d’acquérir une compréhension complète des Écritures. En tant que professeur et guide touristique, son objectif est de transmettre les principes de base à chacun de ses étudiants.

Formation

Jonathan Lipnick est titulaire d’un master en sciences religieuses de l’Université hébraïque de Jérusalem et de l’Université Harvard ainsi que d’une licence en études religieuses de l’Université de l’Indiana. Il termine actuellement son doctorat au sein du Comité sur l’étude de la religion à l’Université Harvard. Ses recherches et son enseignement concernent principalement l’étude multidisciplinaire de la Bible, incorporant des connaissances liées à l’histoire, à la géographie et à la linguistique.

Expérience professionnelle

Jonathan Lipnick est formateur pédagogique et guide touristique agréé, basé à Jérusalem. Il a enseigné à l’Université hébraïque et au Shalem College. Il termine actuellement son doctorat en études chrétiennes à l’Université de Harvard. Sa thèse porte sur Origène d’Alexandrie et le développement du concept de terre sainte dans les textes chrétiens et juifs de l’Antiquité tardive.

Jonathan Lipnick, M.A.
See What People Say About
Jonathan Lipnick, M.A.
"This is an excellent way to extend one's knowledge of the Bible and it puts biblical stories in context helping us not only to imagine where these took place but also actually see possible sites and the relationship to the terrain around the stories. Jonathan is a great teacher."

Jonathan Lipnick, M.A.

Dean of the Holy Land Studies Faculty

A Few Words About Jonathan Lipnick

Jonathan Lipnick believes that a truly comprehensive understanding of Scripture must be capable of penetrating beneath the printed words to reveal the authentic world of the Bible: the landscapes, smells and sounds of ancient Israel. He is the dean of the faculty of Holy Land Studies at Israel Institute of Biblical Studies, and is the author of the course “Exploring the Biblical Land of Israel” as well as articles posted on the Holy Land Studies blog. He is also an assistant author of the Biblical Greek curriculum. Jonathan was born and raised in the US. His fascination with the biblical history of Israel started when he took part in an archeological dig at Tel Bet Shemesh in 1999, after which he became convinced that the world of the Bible is something that must be studied up close in order to gain a full understanding of the Scriptures. As a teacher and tour guide, his goal is to impart his core insight to each of his students.

Education

Jonathan Lipnick holds MA degrees in Religious Studies from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Harvard University as well as a BA in Religious Studies from Indiana University. He is currently completing his PhD at the Committee on the Study of Religion at Harvard University. His research and teachings are primarily concerned with the multidisciplinary study of the Bible, incorporating insights that relate to history, geography, and philology.

Professional Experience

Jonathan Lipnick is an educator and licensed tour guide based in Jerusalem. He has taught courses at the Hebrew University and at Shalem College. He is currently in the process of completing his PhD in Early Christian Studies at Harvard University and his dissertation relates to Origen of Alexandria and the development of the concept of holy land in Christian and Jewish texts from Late Antiquity.