Hébreu biblique-Niveau B

Etre plus près que jamais des Ecritures saintes telles qu'elles ont été écrites à l'origine et examiner le vrai sens derrière chaque mot et chaque récit biblique.

Un nouveau cours est sur le point de commencer
Ne ratez pas cette chance !
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

Description du cours

Course Main Takeways
  • Date de début
    novembre 24, 2019
  • Niveau
    Improved
  • Horaires hebdomadaires
    2 heures
  • Durée
    9 mois
  • Langue
    Français
  • Certification
    Ce cours vaut 3 unités de valeur à l'Université hébraïque de Jérusalem

Ce cours met l'accent sur la lecture de la Bible hébraïque dans la langue originale. Il vise à poser des fondements solides qui permettront aux étudiants de développer avec assurance leurs compétences de la langue hébraïque biblique.

Pour en savoir plus

Responsable du cours

Dr. Ohad Cohen

Dr. Ohad Cohen

Dr Ohad Cohen était chercheur en linguistique à l’Université hébraïque de Jérusalem et il est maintenant membre du corps enseignant au département de langue hébraïque…

Profil complet

Résumé du programme de cours

  1. Introduction : Jonas

    Bienvenue au cours B ! Dans cette unité, nous allons lire des extraits du premier chapitre de Jonas et utiliser ces versets pour nous aider à réviser certains thèmes importants du cours A. Outre les sujets grammaticaux tels que la forme construite, l'article défini, les verbes, etc., nous allons également aborder le contexte géographique, culturel et historique de ce récit.

  2. Jonas (suite)

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons poursuivre la lecture et la discussion du livre de Jonas. Outre la révision de points grammaticaux importants, tels que les suffixes pronominaux, la structure du mot en hébreu, etc., nous allons également étudier quelque chose de nouveau concernant la préposition hébraïque מִן “de” (de provenance). Dans notre discussion concernant le contexte culturel et historique du texte, nous aborderons certains aspects de la poésie hébraïque.

  3. Jonas à Ninive

    Dans la présente unité, nous continuons notre lecture du livre de Jonas et nous allons voir comment les habitants de Ninive répondent à l'avertissement de Dieu. Nous aborderons également comment (et pourquoi !) l'auteur de Jonas relie cette histoire à divers autres textes bibliques. Au cours de notre lecture, nous réviserons le vocabulaire hébraïque important concernant des choses telles que les royaumes, les parties du corps, les groupes d'animaux, etc.

  4. Est de Ninive

    Dans la présente unité, nous poursuivons notre lecture du livre de Jonas et nous allons voir comment et pour quelle raison le langage auquel recourt l'auteur fait écho à d'autres versets de ce livre. Nous allons également passer un certain temps à réviser des concepts importants à propos des noms et des adjectifs en hébreu, en utilisant des exemples extraits de Jonas 4. Outre notre discussion sur la grammaire, nous allons étudier certains concepts hébraïques du monde naturel.

  5. Participes

    Dans cette unité, nous allons étudier la forme du participe hébreu. Nous allons également lire quelques textes bibliques pour voir comment le participe peut être utilisé en tant que substantif, adjectif ou verbe. Dans la deuxième partie de notre discussion, nous allons nous concentrer sur la manière dont le participe fonctionne au sein du système verbal relatif de l'hébreu.

  6. Impératif

    Dans cette unité, nous allons étudier la forme de l'impératif en hébreu. Nous aborderons également certains textes bibliques pour voir comment l'impératif peut exprimer la volonté du locuteur de différentes manières : commandement direct, requête, permission, etc.

  7. La naissance de Moïse

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons lire des extraits de l'histoire de la naissance de Moïse et discuter des contextes culturels et historiques de ce texte. Nous allons également utiliser ces versets pour réviser divers sujets grammaticaux, en particulier le participe et l'impératif.

  8. L'infinitif construit

    Dans cette unité, nous allons étudier la forme verbale nominale appelée “infinitif construit”. Nous allons explorer les différentes manières dans lesquelles cette forme peut être combinée à des prépositions et des suffixes. Tout au long de l'unité, nous allons également lire des textes concernant Abraham, Josaphat et d'autres personnages bibliques pour voir comment l'infinitif construit est utilisé en hébreu biblique.

  9. L'infinitif absolu

    Dans cette unité, nous allons étudier la forme “absolue” de l'infinitif en hébreu. Nous étudierons l'aspect de cette forme et en quoi elle diffère de l'infinitif construit. Nous allons également explorer quelques-unes des utilisations les plus fréquentes de l'infinitif absolu en hébreu, en examinant des textes de l'ensemble des trois groupes majeurs de la littérature biblique : la Tora, les Hagiographes et les Prophètes.

  10. Joseph et ses frères

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons entamer la lecture du récit de la rencontre de Joseph avec ses frères en Egypte. Nous aborderons les aptitudes rhétoriques de Juda et de quelle manière il use de toutes les finesses de la “politesse en hébreu” pour inciter Joseph à écouter favorablement son discours. Nous allons également étudier comment l'hébreu exprime une interdiction immédiate (“ne fais pas ! ”) ainsi que le concept “d'avoir”.

  11. Suffixes pronominaux avec noms au pluriel

    Dans cette unité, nous allons réviser les suffixes pronominaux abordés lors du cours A et étudier quelle apparence prennent ces suffixes lorsqu'ils sont attachés à des noms au pluriel. Lors de la lecture de textes bibliques, nous verrons des exemples de ces suffixes en action, nous allons découvrir qu'ils peuvent également apparaître sur des prépositions.

  12. Suffixes de complément d'objet direct des verbes

    Dans cette unité, nous allons étudier que lorsqu'un pronom est le complément d'objet direct d'un verbe, il peut être attaché à ce verbe comme suffixe. Nous verrons l'aspect que prennent ces suffixes de complément d'objet direct ainsi que des exemples illustrant de quelle manière ils sont utilisés dans le texte biblique. Nous étudierons également comment ils se comparent à d'autres types de suffixes que nous avons abordés dans les unités précédentes.

  13. Joseph se fait connaître

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons poursuivre notre discussion de la rencontre de Joseph avec ses frères en Egypte. Nous allons aborder une forme particulière du verbe Qatal au cours de notre lecture et voir comment diverses prépositions prennent différentes formes de suffixes pronominaux. Nous allons également étudier de nouveaux idiomes hébraïques et voir comment les perspectives culturelles de l'auteur affectent sa vision de la géographie.

  14. Binyanim : Le système verbal de l'hébreu

    Dans cette unité, nous allons présenter une orientation générale de la manière dont le système verbal de l'hébreu est structuré. Nous étudierons que comme avec les noms, chaque verbe en hébreu est constitué d'une racine et d'un schème qui nous permettent de comprendre sa signification. Nous aborderons la relation entre les différents schèmes du verbe en hébreu (les binyanim) que nous rencontrerons dans nos prochaines unités.

  15. Le verbe au Piel

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons nous concentrer sur le binyan Piel, le membre actif du thème doublé. Nous étudierons quel aspect le verbe au Piel prend dans les différentes conjugaisons (Qatal, impératif, etc.) que nous avons déjà abordées dans le binyan Qal. Au cours de notre étude, nous lirons plusieurs versets extraits du livre de la Genèse, ce qui nous permettra de voir le verbe au Piel en action.

  16. Le verbe au Poual

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons nous concentrer sur le binyan Poual, le membre passif du thème doublé. Nous étudierons quel aspect le verbe au Poual prend dans ses différentes conjugaisons (Qatal, Yiqtol, etc.). En nous penchant sur les récits de Job et de Samson, nous serons également en mesure de comparer les formes du verbe Poual avec les formes des binyanim du Qal et Piel.

  17. Les fils de Juda

    Dans cette unité, nous entamons la lecture du récit de Juda et de Tamar en Genèse 38. Nous aborderons le contexte culturel de ce récit et explorerons ses liens avec l'histoire de Ruth. Au cours de notre lecture, nous réviserons les thèmes précédents tels que les suffixes de complément d'objet direct ainsi que les binyanim Piel et Poual. Nous allons également étudier de quelle manière des lettres gutturales peuvent affecter la forme des verbes au Piel et au Poual.

  18. Le verbe au Nifal

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons étudier plus particulièrement le binyan Nifal, le thème qui se caractérise par la lettre préfixée נ. Nous étudierons quel aspect le verbe au Nifal prend dans chacune de ses différentes conjugaisons (Qatal, impératif, etc.). Dans nos exercices en classe et dans les versets bibliques que nous lirons, nous verrons comment le Nifal peut exprimer une voix passive, réciproque ou réflexive.

  19. Le verbe au Hitpael

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons étudier le binyan Hitpael, lequel est le troisième membre du groupe de verbes doublés. Nous aborderons ses deux voix principales, réflexive et réciproque, et verrons comment ce verbe apparaît dans ses diverses conjugaisons. Nous nous pencherons également sur plusieurs exemples de ce verbe dans les récits d'Abraham, Jacob et Isaïe.

  20. Juda et Tamar

    Dans cette unité, nous allons continuer à lire l'histoire de Juda et de Tamar dans Genèse 38, et nous discuterons de la manière dont l'Ecriture choisit délibérément ses paroles dans ce récit. Nous allons trouver des exemples de chacun des binyanim que nous avons étudiés jusqu'à présent, et découvrirons que nous pouvons reconnaître ces binyanim même lorsque des lettres inhabituelles comme des gutturales changent leur forme légèrement.

  21. Le verbe au Hifil

    Dans la présente unité, nous revenons à notre discussion du système verbal de l'hébreu et nous allons étudier le verbe au Hifil, le binyan causatif actif. Tout en étudiant la morphologie unique de ce verbe, nous comparerons également cette forme aux binyanim précédents que nous avons abordés. Enfin, nous lirons quelques exemples de verbes au Hifil dans le texte biblique et verrons à quel point nous sommes maintenant en mesure de traduire !

  22. Le verbe au Houfal

    Dans cette unité, nous allons terminer notre discussion sur les binyanim de l'hébreu en étudiant la morphologie et les voix du binyan Houfal, le membre passif du groupe verbal causatif. En lisant des textes bibliques pour trouver des exemples de la forme du verbe Houfal, nous serons également en mesure de comparer ce verbe avec son homologue actif, le Hifil, ainsi qu'avec les autres binyanim étudiés.

  23. Tamar réussit

    Dans cette unité, nous continuons à étudier l'histoire de Juda et de Tamar. Nous allons trouver des exemples dans le texte différents verbes que nous avons appris, et nous réviserons les caractéristiques de l'ensemble des sept binyanim de l'hébreu. Nous discuterons également de certaines particularités de la langue hébraïque : la même racine est-elle toujours utilisée avec la même signification ? Le binyan Hifil peut-il avoir un passif autre que le Houfal ?

  24. Participes (suite)

    Alors que nous achevons la lecture de l'histoire de Juda et de Tamar dans cette unité, nous allons rencontrer le participe dans plusieurs formes inhabituelles. Nous allons découvrir quel aspect à le participe dans chacun des nouveaux binyanim que nous avons étudiés. En reprenant les derniers versets de Genèse 38, nous allons également examiner la manière dont les personnages et les idées essentielles ici s'inscrivent dans l'histoire plus vaste allant d'Abraham à David.

  25. Les adverbes en hébreu

    Quel aspect les adverbes ont-ils en hébreu ? Dans la présente unité, nous allons étudier certaines des différentes manières dans lesquelles les adverbes sont formés dans la langue hébraïque. Nous trouverons des exemples dans le texte biblique de chaque catégorie d'adverbe. Nos exemples incluront certains versets que nous avons abordés lors du cours A, mais nous disposons désormais de la compréhension de l'hébreu pour traduire plus complètement !

  26. David, Nabal et Abigaïl

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons lire et discuter de l'histoire de David, Nabal et Abigaïl dans 1 Samuel 25. Jeu de mots, caractérisation et rhétorique habile sont quelques-unes des techniques littéraires que nous voyons utiliser ici par l'auteur. Au cours de notre discussion, nous réviserons certaines formes verbales que nous avons étudiées jusqu'à présent. Nous étudierons également la manière dont l'hébreu transforme le participe Qal en verbe passif.

  27. Propositions relatives

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons étudier la manière de comprendre les “propositions relatives”, phrases qui décrivent un nom exactement comme un adjectif. Nous allons comparer, dans la mesure du possible, la syntaxe hébraïque à celle du français afin de voir comment obtenir la meilleure traduction de ces expressions. Nous allons également trouver des exemples de deux particules relatives en hébreu dans les différents genres du texte biblique et examinerons comment elles sont utilisées dans divers contextes.

  28. La forme du duel et les nombres

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons étudier quel aspect les nombres en l'hébreu prennent aux genres masculin et féminin. Nous allons également découvrir que l'hébreu dispose d'un suffixe spécial pour marquer les noms qui viennent par paires, et explorer certaines situations différentes dans lesquelles cette “forme duelle” apparaît. Comme de coutume, nous rechercherons des exemples dans les textes bibliques.

  29. Création et suffixes pronominaux

    Dans la présente unité, nous allons lire et discuter du récit de la création dans Genèse 1-2, plus spécifiquement les versets concernant la création de la femme. Nous écouterons certains des midrachim juifs relatifs à ce texte et verrons comment ils interagissent ici avec l'hébreu. Au cours de notre étude, nous rencontrerons différents types de suffixes pronominaux, et étudierons l'aspect que prennent ces suffixes dans les noms féminins pluriel.

  30. Le chemin parcouru

    Voyez jusqu'où nous sommes arrivés ! Lors de ce cours, nous allons commencer par la lecture de quelques versets (sans traduction) à propos du patriarche Isaac. Nous allons nous mettre l'accent sur certaines formes verbales et d'autres sujets grammaticaux que nous trouvons ici et nous remémorer ce que nous avons étudié ce semestre. Puis nous reprendrons les versets et verrons à quel point nous pouvons traduire avec toutes les connaissances acquises en hébreu dont nous disposons à présent.

Programme complet du cours

Ce cours est pleinement reconnu par l'Université hébraïque de Jérusalem

  • Obtenir les crédits universitaires de ce cours de l'Université hébraïque de Jérusalem
  • Valable chez tout institut universitaire qui accepte l'accréditation de l'Université hébraïque de Jérusalem
  • Obtenir un certificat de l'Institut d'études bibliques d'Israël à la fin de ce cours
Un nouveau cours est sur le point de commencer – Hébreu biblique-Niveau B
Ne ratez pas cette chance !
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

Biblical Hebrew – Level B

Course Description

Whether you have studied Biblical Hebrew before, or just finished level A with us, you’ve overcome a few challenges in your Hebrew journey. We now delve into the heart of the Scripture, with inspiring stories which will motivate you to develop your skills as an independent reader of the Hebrew Bible. 

In this course, you will learn about the Bible’s great spiritual leaders including Abraham, Moses and David. We’ll follow their cultural, historical and geographical background, and eventually come to recognize their unique rhetorical tone, through a close reading in Hebrew.  We will learn about verbs, forms of speech and acquire new vocabulary that will allow you to read and understand full paragraphs from the Bible, without translation.

When do our courses start?
We have a few starting dates so you can choose the class that best suits your schedule. Our next class starts on Sunday, October 18 at 7:00 PM. If you are interested in one of our classes click on the schedule below to start the registration process.

Select your preferred class time
All times are in GMT+-5
11:00am
Sun, Oct 18
Mon, Oct 19
Wed, Oct 21
Thu, Oct 22
Sun, Nov 15
11:00am
19 Oct 2020 - 19 Jun 2021 Starts at 11:00am | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
12:00pm
19 Oct 2020 - 19 Jun 2021 Starts at 12:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
22 Oct 2020 - 22 Jun 2021 Starts at 12:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
1:00pm
21 Oct 2020 - 21 Jun 2021 Starts at 1:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
6:00pm
15 Nov 2020 - 15 Jul 2021 Starts at 6:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
7:00pm
18 Oct 2020 - 18 Jun 2021 Starts at 7:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
21 Oct 2020 - 21 Jun 2021 Starts at 7:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
22 Oct 2020 - 22 Jun 2021 Starts at 7:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
8:00pm
19 Oct 2020 - 19 Jun 2021 Starts at 8:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now

This course is accredited by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem

  • We partnered with the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, one of the leading biblical research institutes in the world, to bring you a wealth of Biblical knowledge in courses developed by renowned scholars.
  • Upon completion, you’ll receive a certificate of achievement from the Israel Institute of Biblical Studies signed by the dean of the faculty.
  • We also offer an academic track, with 3 academic credits, which is recognized in universities worldwide. To hear more details and enroll in the academic track click here.

Syllabus Summary

  1. Introduction: Jonah

    Welcome to Course B! In this lesson, we’ll read selections from the first chapter of Jonah and use these verses to help us review some of the important material from Course A. In addition to grammatical topics like construct chains, the definite article, verbs, etc., we’ll also discuss the geographical, cultural and historical background of this story.

  2. Jonah, con't

    In this lesson we’ll continue reading and discussing the book of Jonah. In addition to reviewing important grammatical topics such as pronominal suffixes, Hebrew word structure, etc., we’ll
    also learn something new about the Hebrew preposition ןמִ “from.” In our discussion about the cultural and historical background of the text, we’ll look at some aspects of Hebrew poetry.

  3. Jonah in Nineveh

    In this lesson, we’ll continue our reading in the book of Jonah and see how the people of Nineveh respond to God’s warning. We’ll also discuss how (and why!) the writer of Jonah connects this story to various other biblical texts. During our reading, we’ll review some important Hebrew vocabulary related to things like kingdoms, body parts, animal groups, etc.

  4. East of Nineveh

    In this lesson, we’ll finish reading the book of Jonah and see how and why the author’s language here echoes other verses from this book. We’ll also spend some time reviewing important concepts about Hebrew nouns and adjectives, using examples from Jonah 4. In addition to our discussion of the grammar, we’ll learn about some Hebrew concepts of the natural world.

  5. Participles

    In this lesson, we’ll learn about the form of the Hebrew participle. We’ll also read some biblical texts to see how the participle can be used either as a noun, an adjective, or a verb. We will focus the second half of our discussion on how the participle functions within the relative verbal system of Hebrew.

  6. Imperatives

    In this lesson, we’ll learn about the form of the Hebrew imperative. We’ll also examine some biblical texts to see how the imperative can express the will of the speaker in different ways: direct command, request, permission, etc.

  7. The Birth of Moses

    In this lesson, we’ll read selections from the story of Moses’ birth and discuss some of the cultural and historical background of this text. We’ll also use these verses to review various grammatical topics, especially the participle and the imperative.

  8. The Infinitive Construct

    In this lesson, we’ll learn about a nominal verb form called the “infinitive construct.” We’ll explore different ways in which this form can be combined with prepositions and suffixes. Throughout the lesson, we’ll also read texts about Abraham, Jehoshaphat, and other biblical characters to see how the infinitive construct is used in biblical Hebrew.

  9. The Infinitive Absolute

    In this lesson, we’ll discuss the “absolute” form of the Hebrew infinitive. We’ll learn what this form looks like and how it is different from the infinitive construct. We’ll also explore some of the most common uses of the infinitive absolute in Hebrew, examining texts from all three major groups of biblical literature: the Torah, the Writings, and the Prophets.

  10. Joseph and His Brothers

    In this lesson, we’ll begin reading the story of Joseph’s reunion with his brothers in Egypt. We’ll discuss Judah’s rhetorical skills and how he uses all the tools of “polite Hebrew” to make Joseph listen favorably to his speech. We’ll also learn how Hebrew gives an immediate prohibition (“don’t do!”) and how it expresses the concept “to have.”

  11. Pronominal Suffixes with Plural Nouns

    In this lesson, we’ll review the pronominal suffixes we talked about in Course A and learn what these suffixes look like when they are attached to plural nouns. While we read biblical texts to see examples of these suffixes in action, we’ll discover that they can also appear on prepositions.

  12. Object Suffixes for Verbs

    In this lesson, we’ll learn that if a pronoun is the direct object of a verb, it can be attached to that verb as a suffix. We’ll learn what these object suffixes look like and see examples of how they are used in the biblical text. We’ll also look at how they compare to other types of suffixes we have learned in previous lessons.

  13. Joseph Reveals Himself

    In this lesson, we will continue our discussion of Joseph’s reunion with his brothers in Egypt. We’ll encounter a special form of the Qatal verb in our reading and see how various prepositions take different forms of the pronominal suffixes. We’ll also discuss some new Hebrew idioms and see how the author’s cultural perspective affects his view of geography.

  14. Binyanim: The Hebrew Verbal System

    In this lesson, we’ll give a general orientation to how the Hebrew verbal system is structured. We’ll learn that just like with nouns, each Hebrew verb is made up of both a root and a pattern that help us to understand its meaning. We’ll discuss the relationship between the different Hebrew verb patterns (the binyanim) that we will meet in our upcoming lessons.

  15. The Piel Verb

    In this lesson, we will focus on the Piel binyan, the active member of the doubled stem. We will learn what the Piel verb looks like in the different conjugations (Qatal, imperative, etc.) we have already learned in the Qal binyan. During our discussion, we will read several verses from the book of Genesis so that we can see the Piel verb in action.

  16. The Pual Verb

    In this lesson, we will focus on the Pual binyan, the passive member of the doubled stem. We will learn what the Pual verb looks like in its different conjugations (Qatal, Yiqtol, etc.). By taking a look at the stories of Job and Samson, we will also be able to compare the forms of the Pual verb with the forms of the Qal and Piel binyanim.

  17. Judah’s Sons

    In this lesson, we will begin reading the story of Judah and Tamar in Genesis 38. We will discuss the cultural context of this narrative and explore its connections with the story of Ruth. As we read, we will review previous material like the object suffixes and the Piel and Pual binyanim. We will also learn how guttural letters can affect the form of Piel and Pual verbs.

  18. The Nifal Verb

    In this lesson, we will focus on the Nifal binyan, the stem that is characterized by a prefixed letter נ. We will learn what the Nifal verb looks like in each of its different conjugations (Qatal, imperative, etc.). In our class exercises and in the biblical verses that we will read, we will see how the Nifal can express a passive, reciprocal, or reflexive voice.

  19. The Hitpael Verb

    In this lesson, we will learn about the Hitpael binyan, which is the third member of the doubled verb group. We will discuss its two primary voices, reflexive and reciprocal, and look at how this verb appears in its various conjugations. We will also examine several examples of this verb in the stories of Abraham, Jacob, and Isaiah.

  20. Judah and Tamar

    In this lesson, we will continue reading the story of Judah and Tamar in Genesis 38, and we will discuss how the writer purposefully chooses his words in this narrative. We will find examples of each of the binyanim we have learned up to this point, and we will discover that we can recognize these binyanim even when unusual letters like gutturals change their form slightly.

  21. The Hifil Verb

    In this lesson, we return to our discussion of the Hebrew verbal system and learn about the Hifil verb, the activ causative binyan. While we learn about the unique morphology of this verb, we will also compare this form to the previous binyanim we have learned. Finally, we will read some examples of Hifil verbs in the biblical text and see how much we are now able to translate!

  22. The Hufal Verb

    In this lesson, we will finish our discussion of the Hebrew binyanim by learning about the morphology and voices of the Hufal binyan, the passive member of the causative verb group. As we read biblical texts to find examples of the Hufal verb form, we will also be able to contrast this verb with its active counterpart, Hifil, and with the other binyanim we have learned.

  23. Tamar Succeeds

    In this lesson we will continue the story of Judah and Tamar. We will find examples in the text of the different verbs we have learned, and we will review the characteristics of all seven Hebrew binyanim. We will also discuss some peculiarities of the Hebrew language: Is the same root always used with the same meaning? Can the Hifil binyan have a passive that is not Hufal?

  24. Participles, con’t

    While we finish reading the story of Judah and Tamar in this lesson, we will encounter the participle in several unfamiliar forms. We will discover what the participle looks like in each one of the new binyanim we have learned. Returning to the final verses of Genesis 38, we will also examine how the characters and motifs here fit into the broader story from Abraham to David.

  25. Hebrew Adverbs

    What do Hebrew adverbs look like? In this lesson, we will learn about some different ways in which adverbs are formed in the Hebrew language. We will find examples in the biblical text of each type of adverb. Our examples will include some verses that we read in Course A, but now have the Hebrew understanding to translate more completely!

  26. David, Nabal & Abigail

    In this lesson we will read and discuss the story of David, Nabal and Abigail in 1 Samuel 25. Wordplay, characterization and skillful rhetoric are a few of the literary techniques we see the writer use here. During our discussion, we’ll review some of the verb forms we have studied up to this point. We’ll also learn how Hebrew turns the Qal participle into a passive verb.

  27. Relative Clauses

    In this lesson we will learn how to understand “relative clauses,” phrases that describe a noun just like an adjective does. We will compare the Hebrew syntax to English in order to see how best to translate these phrases. We will also find examples of the two Hebrew relative particles in different genres of the biblical text and examine how they are used in various contexts.

  28. The Dual Form & Numbers

    In this lesson, we will learn what Hebrew numbers look like in both the masculine and feminine genders. We will also discover that Hebrew has a special suffix to mark nouns that come in pairs, and we will explore some different situations in which this “dual form” appears. As usual, we will look into the biblical text for examples.

  29. Creation & Pronominal Suffixes

    In this lesson, we’ll read and discuss the creation story in Genesis 1-2, specifically the verses about the creation of the woman. We’ll hear some of the Jewish midrashim on this text and see how they interact with the Hebrew here. As we read, we’ll encounter several different kinds of pronominal suffixes, and we’ll learn what these suffixes look like on feminine plural nouns.

  30. Where We’ve Been

    See how far we have come! In this meeting, we’ll begin by reading a few verses (without translation) about the patriarch Isaac. We’ll focus in on some verb forms and other grammatical subjects we find here and remind ourselves what we’ve learned this semester. Then we’ll return to the verses and see how much we can translate with all the Hebrew knowledge we now have.

Close

Register online and get exclusive access to extra content

In addition to the course you will gain access to both our live and recorded webinars on fascinating Biblical topics. It’s time to discover new depths in the Scripture and broaden your biblical horizons.

You’re about to begin a new Biblical journey

The registration process takes a minute and is required to secure your spot in the class.
In case you decide to cancel your participation within 7 days from registration you will be able to receive a full refund

Following the online registration process our academic adviser will contact you to finalize the registration process.
  • Course Duration:32 weeks, 9 months
  • Schedule:Starting {{start_date}} - {{end_date}} Every {{week_day}} from {{class_time_start}} to {{class_time_end}}
  • Location:Online

All our courses include

Online Forum
Ask questions any time
Teachers and students have open questions regarding course topics
Access to recordings of your live lessons
Missed your live lesson? Don't worry, simply view the recording
Technical Support
available 24/7
We are here to help you with any technical issue
Extra Practice Sessions
A weekly Q&A session in addition to the regular lesson

Have a Question?

  • How does the course work?

    We teach live classes online: a teacher and a small group of students meet once a week through their home computer. We use video conference technology that allows live student-teacher interaction. You can fully participate in the lesson by using the microphone or the chat box.

  • What if I miss a lesson?

    Don’t worry all the live lessons are also recorded and available on demand. You can review them at any time.

  • What qualifications do your teachers have?

    All our teachers have a teaching certificate and are approved by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. They are all scholars from leading universities around the world, including the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Harvard and Durham University.

  • What is your cancellation policy?

    You may cancel your course up to 7 days after registration and get a full refund, unless your course has already started. To see our cancellation policy, click here.

    In case you have decided to cancel your participation please note that virtual classrooms, like any other classrooms, have limited capacity. Demand for our classes is high and late cancellation prevent other students from obtaining a spot in the upcoming semester.

     

    Students who wish to cancel their participation are entitled to a partial refund as seen below:

    • 100% Refund (0% of course tuition due): Up to 7 days from the date of your registration, unless your course has already started.
    • 75% Refund (25% of course tuition due): Cancellation prior to your 1st scheduled lesson.
    • 25% Refund (75% if course tuition due): Up to 30 days from your 1st scheduled lesson.
    • 0% Refund (100% of course tuition due): After 30 days from the 1st scheduled lesson.

    To read our full cancellation policy, click here.

  • Class time zones – what time do your classes start?

    We teach Sunday to Friday according to your local time zone. You are welcome to check the schedule and assign yourself to a time that’s most suitable to you.

  • Do I need to purchase special equipment for the courses?

    All you need is a working computer with an internet connection and you’re set. We work with Windows and Mac operating systems.

  • Can I pay in installments?

    Yes, you can pay in 9 monthly installments.