Biblisches Hebräisch – Stufe B

Kommen Sie den heiligen Schriften, wie sie ursprünglich geschrieben wurden, näher als je zuvor, und betrachten Sie die wahre Bedeutung hinter jedem Wort und jeder Geschichte in der Bibel genauer.

Der nächste Termin wird bald beginnen
Lassen Sie die Gelegenheit nicht entgehen!
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

Kursbeschreibung

Course Main Takeways
  • Startdatum
    March 10, 2019
  • Stufe
    Improved
  • Wochenstunden
    2 st
  • Dauer
    9 Monate
  • Sprache
    Deutsch
  • Akkreditierung
    3 Punkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem
See Full Schedule
March 2019
Sunday, 09:00-09:55
Monday, 18:00-18:55
Tuesday, 18:00-18:55
Wednesday, 16:00-16:55
April 2019
Wednesday, 18:00-18:55
March 2019
Sunday, 18:00-18:55
March 2019
Sunday, 15:00-15:55
Tuesday, 17:00-17:55

Dieser Kurs konzentriert sich darauf, die hebräische Bibel in ihrer Originalsprache zu lesen, indem er eine starke Grundlage aufbaut, die es Studierenden ermöglicht, ihre Kenntnisse in biblischem Hebräisch stark zu verbessern.

Lesen Sie mehr

Course Developer

Dr. Ohad Cohen

Dr. Ohad Cohen

Dr. Ohad Cohen war Linguistikforscher an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem und ist jetzt Fakultätsmitglied an der Abteilung für die Hebräische Sprache an der Universität Haifa.…

Komplettes Profil

Programm Überblick

  1. Einführung: Jona

    Willkommen in Kurs B! In dieser Einheit werden wir ausgewählte Texte aus dem ersten Kapitel des Buchs Jona lesen und anhand dieser Verse einige der wichtigen Materialien aus Kurs A wiederholen. Zusätzlich zu grammatischen Themen wie Kontruktketten, dem bestimmten Artikel, Verben usw. besprechen wir auch den geografischen, kulturellen und historischen Hintergrund dieser Geschichte.

  2. Jona, fortgesetzt

    In dieser Einheit lesen und diskutieren wir das Buch Jona weiter. Ergänzend zur Wiederholung wichtiger Grammatikthemen wie Pronominalsuffixe, der hebräischen Wortstruktur usw. werden wir auch etwas Neues über die hebräische Präposition מִן „von“ lernen. In unserer Diskussion über den kulturellen und historischen Hintergrund des Textes sehen wir uns einige Aspekte hebräischer Poesie an.

  3. Jona in Ninive

    In dieser Einheit lesen wir das Buch Jona weiter und sehen uns an, wie die Menschen in Ninive auf Gottes Warnung reagierten. Zudem besprechen wir, wie (und warum!) der Autor des Buchs Jona diese Geschichte mit verschiedenen anderen Bibeltexten verbindet. Beim Lesen werden wir ein paar wichtige hebräische Vokabeln wie Königreiche, Körperteile, Tiergruppen usw. wiederholen.

  4. Östlich von Ninive

    In dieser Einheit lesen wir das Buch Jona zuende und sehen, wie und warum die Sprache des Autors hier an andere Verse dieses Buchs erinnert. Wir werden auch etwas Zeit damit verbringen, wichtige Konzepte über hebräische Nomen und Adjektive zu wiederholen, und verwenden dazu Beispiele aus Jona 4. Neben unserer Besprechung der Grammatik werden wir auch einige hebräische Konzepte über die Naturwelt kennenlernen.

  5. Partizipien

    In dieser Einheit werden wir etwas über die Form des hebräischen Partizips lernen. Außerdem werden wir einige Bibeltexte lesen, um zu sehen, wie das Partizip entweder als Nomen, Adjektiv oder Verb verwendet werden kann. In der zweiten Hälfte unserer Besprechung konzentrieren wir uns auf die Funktion des Partizips innerhalb des relativen Verbalsystems im Hebräischen.

  6. Imperative

    In dieser Einheit werden wir etwas über die Form des hebräischen Imperativs lernen. Wir werden zudem einige Bibeltexte untersuchen, um zu sehen, wie der Imperativ den Willen des Sprechenden auf verschiedene Weisen ausdrücken kann: direkte Aufforderung, Bitte, Erlaubnis usw.

  7. Die Geburt von Moses

    In dieser Einheit werden wir einige Ausschnitte aus der Geschichte der Geburt Moses lesen und den kulturellen und historischen Hintergrund dieses Texts besprechen. Anhand dieser Verse werden wir zudem verschiedene grammatische Themen wiederholen, vor allem das Partizip und den Imperativ.

  8. Die Infinitivkonstruktion

    In dieser Einheit werden wir eine Nominalverbform namens „Infinitivkonstruktion“ lernen. Wir werden erkunden, auf welche unterschiedlichen Weisen diese Form mit Präpositionen und Suffixen kombiniert werden kann. In der gesamten Einheit werden wir außerdem Texte über Abraham, Joschafat und andere Bibelcharaktere lesen, um zu sehen, wie die Infinitivkonstruktion im biblischen Hebräisch angewandt werden kann.

  9. Der Infinitivus absolutus

    In dieser Einheit werden wir die „absolute“ Form des hebräischen Infinitivs besprechen. Wir werden lernen, wie diese Form aussieht, und wie sie sich von der Infinitivkonstruktion unterscheidet. Überdies werden wir einige der häufigsten Anwendungen des Infinitivus absolutus im Hebräischen erkunden, und dabei Texte aus allen drei Hauptgruppen der Bibelliteratur untersuchen: die Tora, die Schriften und die Propheten.

  10. Josef und seine Brüder

    In dieser Einheit beginnen wir, die Geschichte von Josefs Wiedersehen mit seinen Brüdern in Ägypten zu lesen. Wir sprechen über Judas rhetorische Fähigkeiten und darüber, wie er alle Mittel des „höflichen“ Hebräisch verwendet, damit Josef seiner Rede wohlgesinnt lauscht. Zudem lernen wir, wie das Hebräische ein sofortiges Verbot ausspricht („lass das“) und wie es das Konzept „haben“ ausdrückt.

  11. Pronominalsuffixe mit Pluralnomen

    In dieser Einheit wiederholen wir die Pronominalsuffixe, die wir in Kurs A besprochen haben, und lernen, wie Suffixe aussehen, wenn sie an Pluralnomen angehängt werden. Während wir Bibeltexte lesen, um Beispiele für die Anwendung dieser Suffixe zu sehen, werden wir entdecken, dass sie auch in Präpositionen erscheinen können.

  12. Objektsuffixe für Verben

    In dieser Einheit lernen wir, dass ein Pronomen, welches das direkte Objekt eines Verbs ist, diesem Verb als Suffix angehängt werden kann. Wir lernen, wie diese Objektsuffixe aussehen und sehen Beispiele, wie sie im Bibeltexte angewandt werden. Zudem sehen wir uns an, wie sie verglichen mit anderen Arten von Suffixen aussehen, die wir in den vorherigen Einheiten gelernt haben.

  13. Josef offenbart sich

    In dieser Einheit setzen wir unsere Besprechung des Wiedersehens Josefs mit seinen Brüdern in Ägypten fort. Beim Lesen begegnen wir einer besonderen Form des Qatal-Verbs und sehen, wie verschiedene Präpositionen verschiedene Formen von Pronominalsuffixen annehmen. Zudem sprechen wir über einige neue hebräische Redewendungen und sehen, wie die kulturelle Perspektive des Autors seinen Blick auf die Geografie beeinflusst.

  14. Binyanim: Das hebräische Verbalsystem

    In dieser Einheit werden wir einen allgemeinen Überblick über die Struktur des hebräischen Verbsystems geben. Wir werden erfahren, dass hebräische Verben, wie auch Nomen, aus einer Wurzel und einem Muster bestehen, das uns hilft, ihre Bedeutung zu verstehen. Wir werden die Beziehung zwischen den verschiedenen hebräischen Verbmustern (den Binyanim) besprechen, die wir in den kommenden Einheiten kennenlernen werden.

  15. Das Piel-Verb

    In dieser Einheit werden wir uns auf den Piel Binyan konzentrieren, das aktive Mitglied des Dopplungsstamms. Wir werden lernen, wie das Piel-Verb in verschiedenen Konjugationen aussieht (Qatal, Imperativ usw.), die wir bereits im Qal Binyan gelernt haben. Während unserer Diskussion werden wir mehrere Verse aus dem Buch Genesis lesen, sodass wir die Anwendung des Piel-Verbs sehen können.

  16. Das Pual-Verb

    In dieser Einheit werden wir uns auf den Pual Binyan konzentrieren, das passive Mitglied des Dopplungsstamms. Wir werden lernen, wie das Pual-Verb in verschiedenen Konjugationen aussieht (Qatal, Yigtol usw.). Anhand der Geschichten von Hiob und Simson werden wir zudem die Formen des Pual-Verbs mit den Formen der Qal und Piel Binyanim vergleichen können.

  17. Judas Söhne

    In dieser Einheit werden wir beginnen, die Geschichte von Juda und Tamar in Genesis 38 zu lesen. Wir werden den kulturellen Kontext dieser Narrative besprechen und ihre Zusammenhänge mit der Geschichte von Rut erkunden. Beim Lesen werden wir vorherige Materialien wie die Objektsuffixe und den Piel und Pual Binyanim wiederholen. Außerdem werden wir lernen, wie Kehllaute die Form von Piel- und Pual-Verben beeinflussen können.

  18. Das Nifal-Verb

    In dieser Einheit werden wir uns auf den Nifal Binyan konzentrieren, dessen Stamm sich durch einen Präfixbuchstaben auszeichnet: נ. Wir werden lernen, wie das Nifal-Verb in jeder der verschiedenen Konjugationen (Qatal, Imperativ usw.) aussieht. In unseren Unterrichtsübungen und in den Bibelversen, die wir lesen werden, werden wir sehen, wie Nifal ein passives, reziprokes oder reflexives Genus verbi ausdrücken kann.

  19. Das Hitpael-Verb

    In dieser Einheit werden wir mehr über den Hitpael-Binyan lernen, der das dritte Mitglied der Dopplungsstamm-Verbgruppe ist. Wir werden seine beiden Hauptgenera verbi, reflexiv und reziprok, besprechen, und uns ansehen, wie dieses Verb in unterschiedlichen Konjugationen aussieht. Zudem werden wir mehrere Beispiele dieses Verbs in den Geschichten von Abraham, Jakob und Jesaja untersuchen.

  20. Juda und Tamar

    In dieser Einheit werden wir die Geschichte von Juda und Tamar in Genesis 38 weiter lesen und wir werden besprechen, wie der Autor seine Worte in dieser Erzählung bewusst wählt. Wir werden Beispiele für alle Binyanim finden, die wir bisher gelernt haben, und wir werden entdecken, dass wir diese Binyanim selbst dann erkennen können, wenn ungewöhnliche Buchstaben wie Kehllaute ihre Form leicht ändern.

  21. Das Hifil-Verb

    In dieser Einheit kehren wir zu unserer Besprechung des hebräischen Verbalsystems zurück und lernen das Hifil-Verb, den aktiv-kausativen Binyanim. Während wir die einzigartige Morphologie dieses Verbs kennenlernen, werden wir diese Form auch mit den Binyanim vergleichen, die wir bisher gelernt haben. Zum Schluss werden wir einige Beispiele für Hifil-Verben im Bibeltext lesen und sehen, wie viel wir jetzt übersetzen können!

  22. Das Hufal-Verb

    In dieser Einheit werden wir unsere Besprechung der hebräischen Binyanim beenden, indem wir die Morphologie und Genera verbi des Hufal Binyan lernen, des passiven Mitglieds der kausativen Verbgruppen. Während wir Bibeltexte lesen, um Beispiele der Hufal-Verbform zu finden, werden wir dieses Verb auch seinem aktiven Gegenstück, Hifil, sowie den anderen bisher gelernten Binyanim gegenüberstellen.

  23. Tamar schafft es

    In dieser Einheit werden wir die Geschichte von Juda und Tamar weiter lesen. Wir werden im Text Beispiele der verschiedenen Verben finden, die wir gelernt haben, und wir werden die Eigenschaften aller sieben hebräischen Binyanim wiederholen. Zudem werden wir einige Besonderheiten der hebräischen Sprache besprechen: Wird dieselbe Wurzel immer mit derselben Bedeutung verwendet? Kann der Hifil Binyan ein Passiv haben, das nicht Hufal ist?

  24. Partizipien, fortgesetzt

    Während wir in dieser Einheit die Lektüre der Geschichte von Juda und Tamar abschließen, werden wir das Partizip in mehreren unbekannten Formen kennenlernen. Wir werden entdecken, wie das Partizip in jeder dieser neu gelernten Binyanim aussieht. Wenn wir uns wieder den letzten Versen von Genesis 38 zuwenden, werden wir auch untersuchen, wie sich die Charaktere und Motive hier in die Gesamtgeschichte von Abraham bis David fügen.

  25. Hebräische Adverbien

    Wie sehen hebräische Adverbien aus? In dieser Einheit werden wir einige der verschiedenen Möglichkeiten zur Bildung von Adverbien in der hebräischen Sprache kennenlernen. Wir werden für jede Art von Adverb Beispiele im Bibeltext finden. Unsere Beispiele werden einige Verse umfassen, die wir in Kurs A gelesen haben, doch nun verstehen wir Hebräisch besser und können weitere Teile des Textes übersetzen!

  26. David, Nabal & Abigail

    In dieser Einheit werden wir die Geschichte von David, Nabal und Abigajil im 25. Kapitel des ersten Buches Samuel lesen und besprechen. Wortspiele, Charakterisierungen und geschickte Rhetorik sind nur einige der literarischen Techniken, die der Autor hier anwendet. Während unserer Besprechung werden wir einige der Verbformen wiederholen, die wir bisher gelernt haben. Zudem werden wir lernen, wie das Hebräische das Qal-Partizip zu einem passiven Verb macht.

  27. Relativsätze

    In dieser Einheit werden wir lernen, wie wir „Relativsätze“ verstehen, die ein Nomen ebenso wie ein Adjektiv beschreiben. Wir werden die hebräische Syntax mit der deutschen vergleichen, um zu sehen, wie sich diese Sätze am besten übersetzen lassen. Außerdem werden wir Beispiele der beiden hebräischen Relativpartikel in verschiedenen Genre des Bibeltextes finden und untersuchen, wie sie in unterschiedlichen Kontexten angewandt werden.

  28. Die duale Form & Zahlen

    In dieser Einheit werden wir lernen, wie hebräische Zahlen im maskulinen und femininen Genus aussehen. Wir werden außerdem entdecken, dass das Hebräische einen besonderen Suffix hat, der Nomen hervorhebt, die paarweise auftreten, und wir werden einige unterschiedliche Situationen erkunden, in denen diese „duale Form“ auftritt. Wie üblich werden wir im Bibeltext nach Beispielen suchen.

  29. Schöpfung & Pronominalsuffixe

    In dieser Einheit werden wir die Schöpfungsgeschichte in Genesis 1-2 lesen und besprechen, vor allem die Verse über die Erschaffung der Frau. Wir werden einige der jüdischen Midraschim zu diesem Text hören, und sehen, wie sie hier mit dem Hebräischen interagieren. Beim Lesen werden wir mehrere verschiedene Formen von Pronominalsuffixen entdecken und wir werden erfahren, wie diese Suffixe in femininen Pluralnomen aussehen.

  30. Was wir alles gelernt haben

    Sehen Sie, wie weit wir es geschafft haben! In dieser Stunde beginnen wir mit dem Lesen einiger Verse (ohne Übersetzung) über den Erzvater Isaak. Wir konzentrieren uns auf einige Verbformen und andere grammatikalische Themen, die wir hier finden, und erinnern uns, was wir in diesem Semester gelernt haben. Dann wenden wir uns wieder den Versen zu und sehen, wie viel wir mit all dem hebräischen Wissen, das wir jetzt haben, übersetzen können.

Kompletter Lehrplan

Erhalten Sie für diesen Kurs vollständige Studienpunkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem

  • Erhalten Sie für diesen Kurs vollständige Studienpunkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem
  • Gültig an jedem akademischen Institut, das Studienpunkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem anerkennt
  • Erhalten Sie bei Abschluss dieses Kurses ein offizielles Zertifikat vom Israelischen Institut für Bibelstudien
Der nächste Termin wird bald beginnen – Biblisches Hebräisch – Stufe B
Lassen Sie die Gelegenheit nicht entgehen!
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

Biblical Hebrew – Level B

Course Description

Whether you have studied Biblical Hebrew before, or just finished level A with us, you’ve overcome a few challenges in your Hebrew journey. We now delve into the heart of the Scripture, with inspiring stories which will motivate you to develop your skills as an independent reader of the Hebrew Bible. 

In this course, you will learn about the Bible’s great spiritual leaders including Abraham, Moses and David. We’ll follow their cultural, historical and geographical background, and eventually come to recognize their unique rhetorical tone, through a close reading in Hebrew.  We will learn about verbs, forms of speech and acquire new vocabulary that will allow you to read and understand full paragraphs from the Bible, without translation.

When do our courses start?
We have a few starting dates so you can choose the class that best suits your schedule. Our next class starts on Sunday, October 18 at 7:00 PM. If you are interested in one of our classes click on the schedule below to start the registration process.

Select your preferred class time
All times are in GMT+-5
11:00am
Sun, Oct 18
Mon, Oct 19
Wed, Oct 21
Thu, Oct 22
Sun, Nov 15
11:00am
19 Oct 2020 - 19 Jun 2021 Starts at 11:00am | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
12:00pm
19 Oct 2020 - 19 Jun 2021 Starts at 12:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
22 Oct 2020 - 22 Jun 2021 Starts at 12:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
1:00pm
21 Oct 2020 - 21 Jun 2021 Starts at 1:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
6:00pm
15 Nov 2020 - 15 Jul 2021 Starts at 6:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
7:00pm
18 Oct 2020 - 18 Jun 2021 Starts at 7:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
21 Oct 2020 - 21 Jun 2021 Starts at 7:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
22 Oct 2020 - 22 Jun 2021 Starts at 7:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
8:00pm
19 Oct 2020 - 19 Jun 2021 Starts at 8:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now

This course is accredited by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem

  • We partnered with the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, one of the leading biblical research institutes in the world, to bring you a wealth of Biblical knowledge in courses developed by renowned scholars.
  • Upon completion, you’ll receive a certificate of achievement from the Israel Institute of Biblical Studies signed by the dean of the faculty.
  • We also offer an academic track, with 3 academic credits, which is recognized in universities worldwide. To hear more details and enroll in the academic track click here.

Syllabus Summary

  1. Introduction: Jonah

    Welcome to Course B! In this lesson, we’ll read selections from the first chapter of Jonah and use these verses to help us review some of the important material from Course A. In addition to grammatical topics like construct chains, the definite article, verbs, etc., we’ll also discuss the geographical, cultural and historical background of this story.

  2. Jonah, con't

    In this lesson we’ll continue reading and discussing the book of Jonah. In addition to reviewing important grammatical topics such as pronominal suffixes, Hebrew word structure, etc., we’ll
    also learn something new about the Hebrew preposition ןמִ “from.” In our discussion about the cultural and historical background of the text, we’ll look at some aspects of Hebrew poetry.

  3. Jonah in Nineveh

    In this lesson, we’ll continue our reading in the book of Jonah and see how the people of Nineveh respond to God’s warning. We’ll also discuss how (and why!) the writer of Jonah connects this story to various other biblical texts. During our reading, we’ll review some important Hebrew vocabulary related to things like kingdoms, body parts, animal groups, etc.

  4. East of Nineveh

    In this lesson, we’ll finish reading the book of Jonah and see how and why the author’s language here echoes other verses from this book. We’ll also spend some time reviewing important concepts about Hebrew nouns and adjectives, using examples from Jonah 4. In addition to our discussion of the grammar, we’ll learn about some Hebrew concepts of the natural world.

  5. Participles

    In this lesson, we’ll learn about the form of the Hebrew participle. We’ll also read some biblical texts to see how the participle can be used either as a noun, an adjective, or a verb. We will focus the second half of our discussion on how the participle functions within the relative verbal system of Hebrew.

  6. Imperatives

    In this lesson, we’ll learn about the form of the Hebrew imperative. We’ll also examine some biblical texts to see how the imperative can express the will of the speaker in different ways: direct command, request, permission, etc.

  7. The Birth of Moses

    In this lesson, we’ll read selections from the story of Moses’ birth and discuss some of the cultural and historical background of this text. We’ll also use these verses to review various grammatical topics, especially the participle and the imperative.

  8. The Infinitive Construct

    In this lesson, we’ll learn about a nominal verb form called the “infinitive construct.” We’ll explore different ways in which this form can be combined with prepositions and suffixes. Throughout the lesson, we’ll also read texts about Abraham, Jehoshaphat, and other biblical characters to see how the infinitive construct is used in biblical Hebrew.

  9. The Infinitive Absolute

    In this lesson, we’ll discuss the “absolute” form of the Hebrew infinitive. We’ll learn what this form looks like and how it is different from the infinitive construct. We’ll also explore some of the most common uses of the infinitive absolute in Hebrew, examining texts from all three major groups of biblical literature: the Torah, the Writings, and the Prophets.

  10. Joseph and His Brothers

    In this lesson, we’ll begin reading the story of Joseph’s reunion with his brothers in Egypt. We’ll discuss Judah’s rhetorical skills and how he uses all the tools of “polite Hebrew” to make Joseph listen favorably to his speech. We’ll also learn how Hebrew gives an immediate prohibition (“don’t do!”) and how it expresses the concept “to have.”

  11. Pronominal Suffixes with Plural Nouns

    In this lesson, we’ll review the pronominal suffixes we talked about in Course A and learn what these suffixes look like when they are attached to plural nouns. While we read biblical texts to see examples of these suffixes in action, we’ll discover that they can also appear on prepositions.

  12. Object Suffixes for Verbs

    In this lesson, we’ll learn that if a pronoun is the direct object of a verb, it can be attached to that verb as a suffix. We’ll learn what these object suffixes look like and see examples of how they are used in the biblical text. We’ll also look at how they compare to other types of suffixes we have learned in previous lessons.

  13. Joseph Reveals Himself

    In this lesson, we will continue our discussion of Joseph’s reunion with his brothers in Egypt. We’ll encounter a special form of the Qatal verb in our reading and see how various prepositions take different forms of the pronominal suffixes. We’ll also discuss some new Hebrew idioms and see how the author’s cultural perspective affects his view of geography.

  14. Binyanim: The Hebrew Verbal System

    In this lesson, we’ll give a general orientation to how the Hebrew verbal system is structured. We’ll learn that just like with nouns, each Hebrew verb is made up of both a root and a pattern that help us to understand its meaning. We’ll discuss the relationship between the different Hebrew verb patterns (the binyanim) that we will meet in our upcoming lessons.

  15. The Piel Verb

    In this lesson, we will focus on the Piel binyan, the active member of the doubled stem. We will learn what the Piel verb looks like in the different conjugations (Qatal, imperative, etc.) we have already learned in the Qal binyan. During our discussion, we will read several verses from the book of Genesis so that we can see the Piel verb in action.

  16. The Pual Verb

    In this lesson, we will focus on the Pual binyan, the passive member of the doubled stem. We will learn what the Pual verb looks like in its different conjugations (Qatal, Yiqtol, etc.). By taking a look at the stories of Job and Samson, we will also be able to compare the forms of the Pual verb with the forms of the Qal and Piel binyanim.

  17. Judah’s Sons

    In this lesson, we will begin reading the story of Judah and Tamar in Genesis 38. We will discuss the cultural context of this narrative and explore its connections with the story of Ruth. As we read, we will review previous material like the object suffixes and the Piel and Pual binyanim. We will also learn how guttural letters can affect the form of Piel and Pual verbs.

  18. The Nifal Verb

    In this lesson, we will focus on the Nifal binyan, the stem that is characterized by a prefixed letter נ. We will learn what the Nifal verb looks like in each of its different conjugations (Qatal, imperative, etc.). In our class exercises and in the biblical verses that we will read, we will see how the Nifal can express a passive, reciprocal, or reflexive voice.

  19. The Hitpael Verb

    In this lesson, we will learn about the Hitpael binyan, which is the third member of the doubled verb group. We will discuss its two primary voices, reflexive and reciprocal, and look at how this verb appears in its various conjugations. We will also examine several examples of this verb in the stories of Abraham, Jacob, and Isaiah.

  20. Judah and Tamar

    In this lesson, we will continue reading the story of Judah and Tamar in Genesis 38, and we will discuss how the writer purposefully chooses his words in this narrative. We will find examples of each of the binyanim we have learned up to this point, and we will discover that we can recognize these binyanim even when unusual letters like gutturals change their form slightly.

  21. The Hifil Verb

    In this lesson, we return to our discussion of the Hebrew verbal system and learn about the Hifil verb, the activ causative binyan. While we learn about the unique morphology of this verb, we will also compare this form to the previous binyanim we have learned. Finally, we will read some examples of Hifil verbs in the biblical text and see how much we are now able to translate!

  22. The Hufal Verb

    In this lesson, we will finish our discussion of the Hebrew binyanim by learning about the morphology and voices of the Hufal binyan, the passive member of the causative verb group. As we read biblical texts to find examples of the Hufal verb form, we will also be able to contrast this verb with its active counterpart, Hifil, and with the other binyanim we have learned.

  23. Tamar Succeeds

    In this lesson we will continue the story of Judah and Tamar. We will find examples in the text of the different verbs we have learned, and we will review the characteristics of all seven Hebrew binyanim. We will also discuss some peculiarities of the Hebrew language: Is the same root always used with the same meaning? Can the Hifil binyan have a passive that is not Hufal?

  24. Participles, con’t

    While we finish reading the story of Judah and Tamar in this lesson, we will encounter the participle in several unfamiliar forms. We will discover what the participle looks like in each one of the new binyanim we have learned. Returning to the final verses of Genesis 38, we will also examine how the characters and motifs here fit into the broader story from Abraham to David.

  25. Hebrew Adverbs

    What do Hebrew adverbs look like? In this lesson, we will learn about some different ways in which adverbs are formed in the Hebrew language. We will find examples in the biblical text of each type of adverb. Our examples will include some verses that we read in Course A, but now have the Hebrew understanding to translate more completely!

  26. David, Nabal & Abigail

    In this lesson we will read and discuss the story of David, Nabal and Abigail in 1 Samuel 25. Wordplay, characterization and skillful rhetoric are a few of the literary techniques we see the writer use here. During our discussion, we’ll review some of the verb forms we have studied up to this point. We’ll also learn how Hebrew turns the Qal participle into a passive verb.

  27. Relative Clauses

    In this lesson we will learn how to understand “relative clauses,” phrases that describe a noun just like an adjective does. We will compare the Hebrew syntax to English in order to see how best to translate these phrases. We will also find examples of the two Hebrew relative particles in different genres of the biblical text and examine how they are used in various contexts.

  28. The Dual Form & Numbers

    In this lesson, we will learn what Hebrew numbers look like in both the masculine and feminine genders. We will also discover that Hebrew has a special suffix to mark nouns that come in pairs, and we will explore some different situations in which this “dual form” appears. As usual, we will look into the biblical text for examples.

  29. Creation & Pronominal Suffixes

    In this lesson, we’ll read and discuss the creation story in Genesis 1-2, specifically the verses about the creation of the woman. We’ll hear some of the Jewish midrashim on this text and see how they interact with the Hebrew here. As we read, we’ll encounter several different kinds of pronominal suffixes, and we’ll learn what these suffixes look like on feminine plural nouns.

  30. Where We’ve Been

    See how far we have come! In this meeting, we’ll begin by reading a few verses (without translation) about the patriarch Isaac. We’ll focus in on some verb forms and other grammatical subjects we find here and remind ourselves what we’ve learned this semester. Then we’ll return to the verses and see how much we can translate with all the Hebrew knowledge we now have.

Close

Register online and get exclusive access to extra content

In addition to the course you will gain access to both our live and recorded webinars on fascinating Biblical topics. It’s time to discover new depths in the Scripture and broaden your biblical horizons.

You’re about to begin a new Biblical journey

The registration process takes a minute and is required to secure your spot in the class.
In case you decide to cancel your participation within 7 days from registration you will be able to receive a full refund

Following the online registration process our academic adviser will contact you to finalize the registration process.
  • Course Duration:32 weeks, 9 months
  • Schedule:Starting {{start_date}} - {{end_date}} Every {{week_day}} from {{class_time_start}} to {{class_time_end}}
  • Location:Online

All our courses include

Online Forum
Ask questions any time
Teachers and students have open questions regarding course topics
Access to recordings of your live lessons
Missed your live lesson? Don't worry, simply view the recording
Technical Support
available 24/7
We are here to help you with any technical issue
Extra Practice Sessions
A weekly Q&A session in addition to the regular lesson

Have a Question?

  • How does the course work?

    We teach live classes online: a teacher and a small group of students meet once a week through their home computer. We use video conference technology that allows live student-teacher interaction. You can fully participate in the lesson by using the microphone or the chat box.

  • What if I miss a lesson?

    Don’t worry all the live lessons are also recorded and available on demand. You can review them at any time.

  • What qualifications do your teachers have?

    All our teachers have a teaching certificate and are approved by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. They are all scholars from leading universities around the world, including the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Harvard and Durham University.

  • What is your cancellation policy?

    You may cancel your course up to 7 days after registration and get a full refund, unless your course has already started. To see our cancellation policy, click here.

    In case you have decided to cancel your participation please note that virtual classrooms, like any other classrooms, have limited capacity. Demand for our classes is high and late cancellation prevent other students from obtaining a spot in the upcoming semester.

     

    Students who wish to cancel their participation are entitled to a partial refund as seen below:

    • 100% Refund (0% of course tuition due): Up to 7 days from the date of your registration, unless your course has already started.
    • 75% Refund (25% of course tuition due): Cancellation prior to your 1st scheduled lesson.
    • 25% Refund (75% if course tuition due): Up to 30 days from your 1st scheduled lesson.
    • 0% Refund (100% of course tuition due): After 30 days from the 1st scheduled lesson.

    To read our full cancellation policy, click here.

  • Class time zones – what time do your classes start?

    We teach Sunday to Friday according to your local time zone. You are welcome to check the schedule and assign yourself to a time that’s most suitable to you.

  • Do I need to purchase special equipment for the courses?

    All you need is a working computer with an internet connection and you’re set. We work with Windows and Mac operating systems.

  • Can I pay in installments?

    Yes, you can pay in 9 monthly installments.