Biblisches Hebräisch – Stufe D

Machen Sie sich vertraut mit Poesie, Prophezeiungen und Weisheitsliteratur der Bibel, die uralte Geheimnisse bergen, welche Sie gemeinsam entdecken können. Lesen Sie das Buch das Psalmen, das Buch der Sprüche und weitere, so wie sie vor vielen Jahrhunderten geschrieben wurden.

Der nächste Termin wird bald beginnen
Lassen Sie die Gelegenheit nicht entgehen!
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

Kursbeschreibung

Course Main Takeways
  • Startdatum
    September 01, 2019
  • Stufe
    Advanced
  • Wochenstunden
    2 st
  • Dauer
    9 Monate
  • Sprache
    Deutsch
  • Akkreditierung
    3 Punkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem
See Full Schedule
September 2019
Monday, 19:00-19:55
September 2019
Monday, 16:00-16:55
September 2019
Tuesday, 17:00-17:55

Dieser fortgeschrittene Kurs konzentriert sich auf das Lesen biblischer Poesie, wie das Buch der Psalmen, Prophezeiungen wie Jesaja und Jeremia, und Weisheitsliteratur wie das Buch der Sprüche und das Buch Kohelet. Beteiligen Sie sich an Diskussionen über biblische Poesietechniken, historische Hintergründe und mehr.

Lesen Sie mehr

Course Developer

Dr. Ohad Cohen

Dr. Ohad Cohen

Dr. Ohad Cohen war Linguistikforscher an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem und ist jetzt Fakultätsmitglied an der Abteilung für die Hebräische Sprache an der Universität Haifa.…

Komplettes Profil

Programm Überblick

  1. Elija am Wadi Cherith

    Willkommen in Kurs D! In unseren ersten Einheiten werden wir unser Studium der biblischen Genres beginnen, indem wir die erzählende Prosa in den Geschichten von Elija untersuchen. Während wir unsere erste Geschichte in 1 Könige 17 lesen und den historischen Hintergrund dieser Narrative besprechen, werden wir auch einige der schwachen Verbgruppen wiederholen, die wir in Kurs C gelernt haben.

  2. Elija und die Witwe

    In dieser Einheit setzen wir die Geschichte von Elija fort und lesen über seine Begegnung mit der Witwe in Zarephath. Wo ist Zarephath, und warum ist die Lage des Orts wichtig? Beim Lesen üben wir noch etwas die verschiedenen Verbformen und ihre Anwendung. Zudem werden wir einige wichtige Materialien über die hebräischen Lexika wiederholen und verschiedene Wortarten nachschlagen.

  3. Elija und die Baalspropheten

    Unsere Besprechung von Elija und unsere Wiederholung des Materials aus Kurs C führt uns in dieser Einheit zum Berg Karmel, wo Elija sich den Baalspropheten stellt. Wer ist Baal und warum ist dies angesichts der dreijährigen Dürre so wichtig? Wir werden außerdem zum ersten Mal auf einen ugaritischen Text stoßen und erfahren, wie einige dieser Texte außerhalb des Bibelkanons uns helfen können, die hebräische Erzählung zu verstehen.

  4. Elija auf dem Horeb

    In dieser Einheit schließen wir unsere Einstiegsdiskussion über die Elija-Narrative ab. Wir werden ein letztes Mal die Nomen- und Verbformen wiederholen, die wir in unseren ersten drei Kursen gelernt haben, und dann unsere Sprachkompetenzen weiterentwickeln. Außerdem werden wir einige interessante Vergleiche untersuchen, die die Geschichte in 1 Könige 19 zwischen Elija und Moses zieht.

  5. Biblische Poesie

    In dieser Einheit beginnen wir unsere Besprechung des Genres der biblischen Poesie. Was ist Poesie allgemein? Was sind die Haupteigenschaften biblischer Poesie im Speziellen? Welche Bibeltexte gelten als poetisch? Wir werden diese Fragen beantworten und uns die Psalmen ansehen, um Beispiele der wichtigsten Strukturen biblischer Poesie zu finden.

  6. Arten von Parallelismus

    Nun, nachdem wir erkundet haben, wie poetische Verse in Einheiten aufgeteilt werden, wenden wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit dem Phänomen des „Parallelismus“ zu. Was ist Parallelismus? Welche verschiedenen Arten von Parallelen kann es zwischen zwei (oder mehreren) Teilen eines Verses geben? Wir ziehen Beispiele aus verschiedenen Kategorien biblischer Poesie (religiös, Weisheit, prophetisch usw.), um die Arten von Parallelismus zu veranschaulichen.

  7. Parallelismus: das linguistische Modell

    In unserer vorherigen Einheit haben wir die verschiedenen Formen von Parallelismus aus semantischer Perspektive besprochen und untersucht, wie die Bedeutungen paralleler Begriffe sich zueinander verhalten können. In dieser Einheit werden wir den Parallelismus aus linguistischer Perspektive betrachten, um die syntaktischen Strukturen und Wortklassen in jeder parallelen Einheit des Verses zu untersuchen.

  8. Psalm 1

    Nun, da wir verschiedene Aspekte biblischer Poesie, insbesondere den Parallelismus, besprochen haben, werden wir einige Zeit damit verbringen, zu untersuchen, wie diese in einem Psalm angewandt werden. Wie werden einige dieser poetischen Strukturen auf Ebene des gesamten Psalms sowie auch in den einzelnen Versen verwendet? Welche zusätzlichen Merkmale zeichnet die biblische Poesie aus?

  9. Wortpaare

    Wie wir in den vorherigen Einheiten gesehen haben, ist der Parallelismus eines der auffälligsten Merkmale der biblischen Poesie. Was sind einige der häufigen Paare paralleler Worte, und welche Verbindung erkennen wir zwischen diesen Worten? Zudem werden wir uns einen Text aus dem Ugaritischen ansehen, um einige rote Fäden zu finden, die sich durch die biblische Poesie und den breiter gefassten kanaanäischen Kontext ziehen.

  10. Lautpaare & Alliteration

    Nun, da wir mehr über die Semantik und andere linguistische Mittel zum Beschreiben des Parallelismus gelernt und einige häufige Wortpaare besprochen haben, werden wir uns mit der Phonetik befassen. Wie verwenden die Autoren der Bibel Laute, um Poesie zu erzeugen? Wie können zwei (oder mehr) Worte aufgrund ihrer Aussprache parallel sein? Was ist eine Alliteration und wie wird sie in der biblischen Poesie angewandt?

  11. Das Hohelied & ע''ע

    In dieser Einheit lernen wir eine andere Form von Poesie kennen, während wir einen Ausschnitt des Hoheliedes erkunden. Wie ähnelt dieses anderen Formen der biblischen Poesie? Wie ähnelt es Prosa? Inwieweit unterscheidet es sich von beiden? Beim Lesen werden wir auch eine neue Anwendung für die Verbform פּוֹלֵל entdecken.

  12. Die einzigartige Syntax der Poesie

    In dieser Einheit wenden wir uns von der Besprechung des Parallelismus ab und befassen uns stattdessen mit einigen einzigartigen syntaktischen Merkmalen, die die biblische Poesie von Prosa unterscheiden. Was sind die gemeinsamen Elemente, die aus poetischen Sätzen ausgelassen werden können? Welche anderen Besonderheiten der Syntax zeigen

  13. Die Sprache des Gesetzes

    In dieser Einheit beginnen wir unser Studium eines weiteren Genres der Bibelliteratur – der Sprache des Gesetzes. Wir werden die Konzepte von Gesetzen und Gerechtigkeit im Bibeltexte untersuchen und die gemeinsamen Stämme und Wörter erkunden, die in diesen Kontexten verwendet werden. Dabei werden wir uns besonders auf den Stamm
    שׁפ''ט konzentrieren. Was ist die ursprüngliche Bedeutung dieses Stammes und wie wird er im Bereich Gerechtigkeit (und anderweitig) angewandt?

  14. Kasuistische & apodiktische Gesetze

    In dieser Einheit setzen wir unser Studium der Sprache des Gesetzes fort, indem wir die zwei Hauptkategorien untersuchen, in die die biblischen Gesetze unterteilt sind: kasuistische Gesetze und apodiktische Gesetze. Was sind die Haupteigenschaften jeder dieser Gesetzesformen und welche Arten linguistischer Strukturen erkennen wir in ihnen? Wir werden im Buch Exodus Beispiele für beide Arten von Gesetzen finden.

  15. Biblische Gesetze: Linguistische Formeln

    Nun, da wir die beiden Grundformen biblischer Gesetze kennengelernt haben, werden wir entdecken, wo die Hauptsammlungen dieser Gesetze im Bibeltext zu finden sind. Außerdem werden wir die gemeinsamen spezifischen linguistischen Formeln untersuchen, die verwendet werden, um jede der Gesetzesarten zum Ausdruck zu bringen.

  16. Verbformen im Gesetz

    In dieser Lektion werden wir uns auf die Hauptverbformen konzentrieren, die in der Sprache des Gesetzes im Bibeltext verwendet werden: Yiqtol, Weqatal und die Partizipform. Welche Eigenschaften haben diese Formen, die sie zur natürlichen Wahl für die Sprache des Gesetzes machen? Wie ähnelt die Anwendung dieser Formen in den Gesetzestexten den üblichen Rollen in der gewöhnlichen erzählenden Prosa?

  17. Anwendung der Grammatikbücher

    In dieser Lektion lernen wir die bekannten hebräischen Grammatikbücher kennen, sowohl Grammatiken für Studierende als auch Referenzgrammatiken. Welche Unterschiede bestehen zwischen diesen beiden Arten von Grammatikbüchern und warum sind sie so wichtig für den eigenständigen hebräischen Leser? Während wir uns im Kurs einige Beispiele ansehen, werden wir lernen, wie wir diese Grammatiken anwenden können, um Schwierigkeiten zu lösen, auf die wir im Text treffen.

  18. Grammatikbücher, fortgesetzt

    In dieser Lektion üben wir mit den hebräischen Referenzgrammatiken Joüon-Muraoka und Gesenius weiter und lernen, durch Verwendung des Inhaltsverzeichnisses Probleme zu lösen. Mit Hilfe dieser Grammatikbücher werden wir verschiedene neue Punkte der hebräischen Morphologie und Syntax erkunden, die wir bisher nicht besprochen haben.

  19. Grammatikbuch-Indizes

    In dieser Lektion setzen wir unser Studium der Referenzgrammatikbücher fort und lernen, wie wir mit Hilfe der Indizes hinten im Buch Informationen finden. Während wir anhand von Beispielen aus dem Bibeltext üben, begegnet uns neues Grammatikmaterial, darunter einige besondere Formen von Pronominalsuffixen, die an bestimmte Präpositionen angehängt werden.

  20. Die Parabel vom Weinberg

    In dieser Lektion beginnen wir unser Studium des Genres prophetischer Literatur. Statt mit allgemeineren Fragen einzusteigen, werden wir uns in den ersten Lektionen mit Fallstudien zu konkreten Beispielen dieses Genres beschäftigen. Wir beginnen in dieser Lektion mit der Lektüre der „prophetischen Parabel“ in Jesaja 5,1-7. Was können wir aus diesem Absatz über die Merkmale prophetischer Literatur lernen?

  21. Prophezeiungen des Tadels

    Nun, da wir ein Beispiel einer prophetischen Parabel studiert haben, wenden wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit einer anderen Art von Prophezeiung zu: der „Prophezeiung des Leids“, einer besonderen Form der „Prophezeiungen des Tadels“. Wie sind diese Prophezeiungen strukturiert und welche linguistischen Merkmale prophetischer Literatur können wir in unserem Beispiel in Jesaja 5,11-17 sehen?

  22. Prophezeiungen des Trostes

    In dieser Lektion befassen wir uns mit einer dritten Art von Prophezeiung. Diese „Prophezeiungen des Trostes“ beschreiben die Erlösung in Israel nach der göttlichen Bestrafung. Beim Lesen eines Beispiels im Buch Jeremia werden wir weiter die linguistischen Merkmale erkunden, die die prophetische Literatur auszeichnen.

  23. Biblische Prophezeiung

    Nun, nachdem wir einige konkrete Beispiele für biblische Prophezeiungen gesehen haben, werden wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit einigen allgemeineren Fragen zuwenden. Welchen Ursprung hat der Stamm נב''א? Was haben biblische Prophezeiungen und Prophezeiungen im Nahen Osten des Altertums gemeinsam? Welche Art von Propheten wird im Bibeltext beschrieben? Wie ähneln diese Propheten einander und worin unterscheiden sie sich?

  24. Die einzigartige Sprache der Prophezeiung

    In unserer letzten Lektion zu biblischen Prophezeiungen kehren wir wieder zum Thema Grammatik zurück und fassen die einzigartigen Eigenschaften der prophetischen Sprache zusammen, die wir in unserer Lektüre der letzten Wochen bemerkt haben. Welche gemeinsamen Formeln werden in Prophezeiungen angewandt? Wo folgen die Propheten der Sprache der Poesie und wo sind ihr Vokabular und ihre Syntax einzigartig prophetisch?

  25. ע''ע Verben

    In dieser Lektion kehren wir zum Thema der ע''ע Verben zurück, deren zweite und dritte Stammbuchstaben identisch sind. Wie sehen diese Verben im Qal Binyan aus? Wie sehen sie im Nifal aus? Wie können das Verstehen des Prozesses der „Analogie“ und vielleicht sogar ein wenig Aramäisch uns helfen, diese Formen besser zu verstehen?

  26. Weisheitsliteratur: Sprichwörter

    In dieser Lektion werden wir unser Studium des Genres der „Weisheitsliteratur” beginnen, indem wir das Buch der Sprichwörter untersuchen. Wir werden sehen, dass die Weisheitsliteratur zwar einige poetische Züge aufweist, aber dennoch in ihrem Stil und vor allem in ihrem Vokabular ziemlich einzigartig ist. Was sind einige der Begriffe, die in der Weisheitsliteratur für „Anweisung“, „Weisheit“, „einen Weisen“ und einen „Narr“ verwendet werden?

  27. Sprichwörter 31 & mehr ע''ע

    Diese Woche wenden wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit einer besonderen Reihe von Versen am Ende des Buchs der Sprichwörter zu. Wie veranschaulichen diese Verse Weisheitsthemen und was enthüllen sie über die Verbindung aus Weisheitsliteratur und Poesie? Wir werden zudem zum Thema ע''עVerben zurückkehren und uns ansehen, wie diese Formen im Hifil- und Hufal-Binyanim aussehen.

  28. Die Sprache von Kohelet

    Nun, nachdem wir gesehen haben, wie typische Weisheitsliteratur im Buch der Sprichwörter aussieht, wenden wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit einem einzigartigen Buch der biblischen Weisheitstexte zu: Kohelet (Ekklesiastes). Woher stammt der Titel des Buches? Wann wurde das Buch geschrieben und woher wissen wir das? Was hebt es von den anderen Weisheitstexten und von der biblischen Prosa im Allgemeinen ab?

  29. Eine Zeit für alles

    In dieser letzten Lektion zum Buch Kohelet werden wir einen bekannten Absatz aus dem dritten Kapitel untersuchen. Welche Belege finden wir in diesem Kapitel zu der Zeit, in der das Buch geschrieben wurde? Wie wird eine Untersuchung anderer verwandter Sprachen und der Stufen des Hebräischen uns noch mehr dabei helfen, die Sprache des Buchs Kohelet zu verstehen?

  30. Was wir alles gelernt haben

    In dieser letzten Lektion halten wir inne, um auf den langen Weg zurückzublicken, den wir seit Lektion 1 zurückgelegt haben. Was sind einige der verschiedenen Bibelgenre, die wir besprochen haben, und welche Merkmale des Stils und der Sprache zeichnen sie jeweils aus? Was kommt in Kurs E als nächstes?

Kompletter Lehrplan

Erhalten Sie für diesen Kurs vollständige Studienpunkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem

  • Erhalten Sie für diesen Kurs vollständige Studienpunkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem
  • Gültig an jedem akademischen Institut, das Studienpunkte von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem anerkennt
  • Erhalten Sie bei Abschluss dieses Kurses ein offizielles Zertifikat vom Israelischen Institut für Bibelstudien
Der nächste Termin wird bald beginnen – Biblisches Hebräisch – Stufe D
Lassen Sie die Gelegenheit nicht entgehen!
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

Biblical Hebrew – Level D

Course Description

As an advanced student, in this course we will present various Biblical genres, including prophecies, poetry and parables. Through these genres, we will study the Hebraic method of interpretation, which is based on comparisons, analogies and parallelism that will enhance your skills as a Bible scholar. 

A deeper layer of Biblical meaning will emerge as we read the words of Elijah, Isaiah and Jeremiah, three prophets who led the nation through various periods of highs and lows. With your new interpretive skills, you will greater appreciate the wisdom of Elijah, the message of Isaiah, and the comforting words of Jeremiah.

When do our courses start?
We have a few starting dates so you can choose the class that best suits your schedule. Our next class starts on Monday, October 19 at 6:00 PM. If you are interested in one of our classes click on the schedule below to start the registration process.

Select your preferred class time
All times are in GMT+-5
8:00am
Mon, Oct 19
Tue, Oct 20
Wed, Oct 21
Mon, Nov 16
8:00am
20 Oct 2020 - 20 Jun 2021 Starts at 8:00am | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
11:00am
21 Oct 2020 - 21 Jun 2021 Starts at 11:00am | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
12:00pm
16 Nov 2020 - 16 Jul 2021 Starts at 12:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
6:00pm
19 Oct 2020 - 19 Jun 2021 Starts at 6:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
7:00pm
16 Nov 2020 - 16 Jul 2021 Starts at 7:00pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now

This course is accredited by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem

  • We partnered with the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, one of the leading biblical research institutes in the world, to bring you a wealth of Biblical knowledge in courses developed by renowned scholars.
  • Upon completion, you’ll receive a certificate of achievement from the Israel Institute of Biblical Studies signed by the dean of the faculty.
  • We also offer an academic track, with 3 academic credits, which is recognized in universities worldwide. To hear more details and enroll in the academic track click here.

Syllabus Summary

  1. Elijah at the Cherith Wadi

    Welcome to Course D! In our first few lessons we’ll begin our study of the biblical genres by examining the narrative prose in the stories of Elijah. As we read our first story in 1 Kings 17 and discuss the historical background of this narrative, we’ll also review some of the weak verb groups we learned in Course C.

  2. Elijah and the Widow

    In this lesson we’ll continue the story of Elijah and read about his encounter with the widow at Zarephath. Where is Zarephath, and why is its location important? As we read, we’ll do some more practice with the different verb forms and their uses. We’ll also review some important material about the Hebrew lexicons and how to look up different kinds of words.

  3. Elijah and the Prophets of Baal

    .Our discussion of Elijah and our review of Course C material brings us in this lesson to Mt. Carmel, where Elijah confronts the prophets of Baal. Who is Baal, and why is this significant in light of the three-year drought? We will also meet a Ugaritic text for the first time and learn how some of this extra-biblical literature can help us to understand the Hebrew narrative.

  4. Elijah on Mt. Horeb

    In this lesson, we’ll conclude our opening discussion of the Elijah narrative. We’ll do some final review of the noun and verb forms we’ve learned in our first three courses, and we’ll continue to develop our translating skills. We’ll also examine some interesting comparisions that the story in 1 Kings 19 draws between Elijah and Moses.

  5. Biblical Poetry

    In this lesson we begin our discussion on the genre of biblical poetry. What is poetry in general? What are the major characteristics of biblical poetry in particular? Which biblical texts are considered to be poetic? We’ll answer these questions and look into the Psalms for examples of the most important structural feature of biblical poetry.

  6. Types of Parallelism

    Now that we have explored how poetic verses are divided into units, we will turn our attention to the phenomenon of “parallelism.” What is parallelism? In what different ways can two (or more) parts of a verse be parallel to each other? We’ll draw examples from various categories of biblical poetry (religious, wisdom, prophetic, etc.) to illustrate the types of parallelism.

  7. Parallelism: The Linguistic Model

    In our previous lesson we discussed the different types of parallelism from a semantic perspective, examining how the meanings of parallel terms can relate to each other. In this lesson we will look at parallelism from a linguistic perspective, examining the syntactic structures and word classes in each parallel unit of the verse.

  8. Psalm 1

    Now that we have discussed various aspects of biblical poetry, especially parallelism, we will spend some time examining how these are used in a psalm. How are some of these poetic structures used on the level of the entire psalm as well as within the individual verses? What are some additional characteristics of biblical poetry?

  9. Word Pairs

    As we have seen in the preceding lessons, parallelism is one of the most prominent characteristics of biblical poetry. What are some common pairs of parallel words, and what kinds of relationships do we see between these words? We’ll also look at a text from Ugarit in order to illustrate some common threads between biblical poetry and its wider Canaanite context.

  10. Sound Pairs & Alliteration

    Now that we have learned about the semantic and other linguistic ways to describe parallelism and have discussed some common word pairs, we’ll turn our attention to phonetics: How do the biblical writers use sound to create poetry? In what ways can two (or more) words be parallel because of their pronunciation? What is alliteration, and how is it used in biblical poetry?

  11. Song of Songs & ע''ע

    In this lesson we meet a different type of poetry as we explore a passage in the Song of Songs. How is this similar to other forms of biblical poetry? How is it similar to prose? In what ways is it distinct from both? As we read, we will also discover a new use for the ללוֹפֵּ verb form.

  12. Unique Syntax of Poetry

    In this lesson we turn our discussion away from parallelism and toward some of the unique syntactical features that distinguish biblical poetry from prose. What are the common elements that can be omitted from poetic sentences? What other peculiarities of syntax can be seen in biblical poetry? As always, we will look for examples in a variety of texts.

  13. Language of the Law

    In this lesson we begin our study of another genre of biblical literature – the language of the law. We will examine the concepts of law and justice in the biblical text and explore the common roots and words used in these contexts. We will focus specifically on the root ט''פשׁ. What is the original meaning of this root, and how is it used in the field of justice (and elsewhere)?

  14. Casuistic & Apodictic Laws

    In this lesson we continue our study of language of the law by examining the two primary categories into which biblical laws are organized: Casuistic Law and Apodictic Law. What are the main features of each type of law, and what kinds of linguistic structures do we see in each? We will find examples in the book of Exodus for both types of law.

  15. Biblical Law: Linguistic Formulas

    Now that we have learned about the two basic types of biblical laws, we will discover where the major collections of these laws are located in the biblical text. We will also examine the most common specific linguistic formulas that are used to express each type of law.

  16. Verb Forms In the Law

    In this lesson we will focus on the primary verb forms that are used in the language of the law in the biblical text: Yiqtol, Weqatal, and the participle form. What are the characteristics of these forms that make them the natural choice for language of the law? How is the use of these forms in the law texts similar to their common roles in regular narrative prose?

  17. Using the Grammar Books

    In this lesson we meet the common Hebrew grammar books, both the student grammars and the reference grammars. What are the differences between these two types of grammar books, and why are they so important for the independent Hebrew reader? As we look at some examples in class, we will learn how to use these grammars to solve difficulties we encounter in the text.

  18. Grammar Books, con’t

    In this lesson we continue to practice with the Hebrew reference grammars Joüon-Muraoka and Gesenius, learning how to solve problems by using the table of contents. With the help of these grammar books, we will explore several new points of Hebrew morphology and syntax that we have not discussed before.

  19. Grammar Book Indices

    In this lesson we continue our study of the reference grammar books by learning how to use the indices in the back of the book to locate information. As we practice with examples from the biblical text, we will encounter some new grammatical material, including some special forms of the pronominal suffixes attached to certain prepositions.

  20. The Parable of the Vineyard

    In this lesson we begin our study of the genre of prophetic literature. Instead of opening with more general questions, our first few lessons will be case studies on specific examples of this genre. We begin in this lesson by reading the “prophetic parable” in Isaiah 5:1-7. What can we learn from this passage about the characteristics of prophetic literature?

  21. Prophecies of Rebuke

    Now that we have studied an example of a prophetic parable, we will turn our attention to another type of prophecy: the “prophecy of woe,” which is a particular variety of the “prophecies of rebuke.” How are these prophecies structured, and what linguistic features of prophetic literature can we see in our example in Isaiah 5:11-17?

  22. Prophecies of Consolation

    In this lesson we address a third common type of prophecy. These “prophecies of consolation” describe the redemption of Israel after the divine punishment. As we read an example in the book of Jeremiah, we will continue to examine the linguistic features seen in prophetic literature.

  23. Biblical Prophecy

    Now that we have seen some specific examples of biblical prophecy, we will turn our attention to some more general questions. What is the origin of the root א''בנ? What do biblical prophecy and prophecy of the ancient Near East have in common? What kinds of prophets are described in the biblical text? How are these prophets similar to each other, and where do they differ?

  24. Unique Language of Prophecy

    In our final lesson on biblical prophecy, we will return to the subject of grammar and summarize the unique characteristics of prophetic language that we have observed in our readings over the last few weeks. What common formulas are used in prophecy? Where do the prophets follow the language of poetry, and where are their vocabulary and syntax uniquely prophetic?

  25. ע''ע Verbs

    In this lesson we return to the subject of the ע''ע verbs, whose second and third root letters are identical. What do these verbs look like in the Qal binyan? What do they look like in Nifal? How can understanding the process of “analogy” (and maybe even some Aramaic!) help us to better understand these forms?

  26. Wisdom Literature: Proverbs

    In this lesson we will begin our study of the genre of “wisdom literature” by examining the book of Proverbs. We will see that though wisdom literature does have some poetic features, it is quite unique in its style and especially in its vocabulary. What are some of the terms used in wisdom literature for “instruction,” “wisdom,” “a wise person,” and “a fool”?

  27. Proverbs 31 & More ע''ע

    This week we turn our attention to a particular set of verses at the end of the book of Proverbs. How do these verses illustrate wisdom themes, and what do they reveal about the relationship between wisdom literature and poetry? We will also return to the subject of ע''ע verbs and see what these forms look like in the Hifil and Hufal binyanim.

  28. Language of Qohelet

    Now that we have seen what typical wisdom literature looks like in the book of Proverbs, we will turn our attention to a unique book in the biblical wisdom texts: Qohelet (Ecclesiastes). Where does the title of the book come from? When was this book written, and how can we know? What makes it distinct from the other wisdom texts and from biblical prose in general?

Close

Register online and get exclusive access to extra content

In addition to the course you will gain access to both our live and recorded webinars on fascinating Biblical topics. It’s time to discover new depths in the Scripture and broaden your biblical horizons.

You’re about to begin a new Biblical journey

The registration process takes a minute and is required to secure your spot in the class.
In case you decide to cancel your participation within 7 days from registration you will be able to receive a full refund

Following the online registration process our academic adviser will contact you to finalize the registration process.
  • Course Duration:32 weeks, 9 months
  • Schedule:Starting {{start_date}} - {{end_date}} Every {{week_day}} from {{class_time_start}} to {{class_time_end}}
  • Location:Online

All our courses include

Online Forum
Ask questions any time
Teachers and students have open questions regarding course topics
Access to recordings of your live lessons
Missed your live lesson? Don't worry, simply view the recording
Technical Support
available 24/7
We are here to help you with any technical issue
Extra Practice Sessions
A weekly Q&A session in addition to the regular lesson

Have a Question?

  • How does the course work?

    We teach live classes online: a teacher and a small group of students meet once a week through their home computer. We use video conference technology that allows live student-teacher interaction. You can fully participate in the lesson by using the microphone or the chat box.

  • What if I miss a lesson?

    Don’t worry all the live lessons are also recorded and available on demand. You can review them at any time.

  • What qualifications do your teachers have?

    All our teachers have a teaching certificate and are approved by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. They are all scholars from leading universities around the world, including the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Harvard and Durham University.

  • What is your cancellation policy?

    You may cancel your course up to 7 days after registration and get a full refund, unless your course has already started. To see our cancellation policy, click here.

    In case you have decided to cancel your participation please note that virtual classrooms, like any other classrooms, have limited capacity. Demand for our classes is high and late cancellation prevent other students from obtaining a spot in the upcoming semester.

     

    Students who wish to cancel their participation are entitled to a partial refund as seen below:

    • 100% Refund (0% of course tuition due): Up to 7 days from the date of your registration, unless your course has already started.
    • 75% Refund (25% of course tuition due): Cancellation prior to your 1st scheduled lesson.
    • 25% Refund (75% if course tuition due): Up to 30 days from your 1st scheduled lesson.
    • 0% Refund (100% of course tuition due): After 30 days from the 1st scheduled lesson.

    To read our full cancellation policy, click here.

  • Class time zones – what time do your classes start?

    We teach Sunday to Friday according to your local time zone. You are welcome to check the schedule and assign yourself to a time that’s most suitable to you.

  • Do I need to purchase special equipment for the courses?

    All you need is a working computer with an internet connection and you’re set. We work with Windows and Mac operating systems.

  • Can I pay in installments?

    Yes, you can pay in 9 monthly installments.