Entdeckung der hebräischen Bibel

Kursbeschreibung

Haben Sie beim Lesen Ihrer übersetzten Bibel das Gefühl, dass sich hinter diesen Worten mehr verbirgt? Nun können Sie, auch ohne das hebräische Alphabet und die hebräische Grammatik zu lernen, die tieferen Schichten der Bibel entdecken, während wir gemeinsam neue Einblicke gewinnen und die verborgenen Schätze der hebräischen Bibel neu entdecken.

Dieser Kurs folgt den Spuren der zentralen Figuren im Buch Genesis. Beginnend bei Adam und Eva fragen wir uns, wie dieses göttliche Paar in Ungnade fiel. Wir fahren fort mit der Generation der Sintflut und der Rechtschaffenheit Noahs. Ein Großteil des Kurses dreht sich um das Leben der Erzväter und der Glaubensprüfungen, denen sie sich unterziehen mussten, um sich würdig zu erweisen.

Programm Überblick

  1. Adam: Sein Scheitern und seine Hoffnung (Teil 1)

    Adam & Eva sind das bekannteste Paar der Weltgeschichte; sie können nicht unabhängig voneinander untersucht werden. In diesem Kapitel werden wir die erste und zweite Schöpfung sowie Gottes Vorsehung für die Menschen und die Tiere besprechen.

  2. Adam: Sein Scheitern und seine Hoffnung (Teil 2)

    In diesem Kapitel werden wir das Leben von Adam im Garten Eden betrachten, die Geschichte von Evas Schöpfung, den Baum der Erkenntnis und den Sündenfall von Adam und Eva besprechen.

  3. Adam: Sein Scheitern und seine Hoffnung (Teil 3)

    In diesem Kapitel werden wir sehen, was nach dem Sündenfall mit Adam & Eva sowie mit der Schlange geschieht. Was ist Gottes Strafe für jeden von ihnen?

  4. Noah: Das Leben des neuen Adams (Teil 1)

    In diesem Kapitel lernen wir Noah kennen und wir werden versuchen, Noah als biblische Figur und die mit ihm verbundenen Ereignisse zu verstehen. Wir werden Noahs Generationen und seine Rolle als neuer Adam besprechen – die Hoffnung der gefallenen Welt.

  5. Noah: Das Leben des neuen Adams (Teil 2)

    In diesem Kapitel werden wir Gottes Gnade gegenüber Noah während der Sintflut besprechen sowie Noahs gehorsame Befolgung aller Gebote Gottes. Welchen Bund hat Gott mit Noah geschlossen und wie segnete er Noah und seine Söhne?

  6. Abraham: Das Leben unseres Vaters (Teil 1)

    Abraham ist eine der beliebtesten Figuren der Bibel. Er gilt als „der Vater“ des Judentums, des Christentums und des Islams. In dieser Lektion werden wir die frühen Jahre Abrahams besprechen, sowie Gottes Ruf an ihn, seine Reise ins Gelobte Land fortzusetzen. Zudem werden wir mehr über Abrahams Besuch in Ägypten und seine Trennung von Lot erfahren.

  7. Abraham: Das Leben unseres Vaters (Teil 2)

    Wir lesen weiter über Abrahams Leben und dieses Mal werden wir darüber sprechen, wie der Herr sein Versprechen erneuerte, nachdem Lot sich von Abraham getrennt hatte. Dann sprechen wir über Abrahams Gehorsamkeit gegenüber Gottes Geboten, über seine waghalsige Mission, Lot aus der Gefangenschaft zu retten, und über die dann folgenden Ereignisse.

  8. Abraham: Das Leben unseres Vaters (Teil 3)

    Das nächste Kapitel der Bibel beginnt mit einer Vision davon, wie Gott Abraham erscheint, um ihm Schutz und Belohnung zu versprechen. In diesem Kapitel sprechen wir ausführlich darüber, wie Abraham belohnt wurde, sowie über Gottes großes Versprechen an ihn und den Bund, den sie geschlossen haben.

  9. Abraham: Das Leben unseres Vaters (Teil 4)

    Eine Sache, für die Abraham berühmt ist, ist definitiv die Geburt seines Sohnes Isaaks in so hohem Alter, sowohl für Abraham als auch für seine Frau. Wir werden von den himmlischen Besuchern lesen, die Gott Abraham sandte, und von der Kunde, die sie ihm brachten. Zudem werden wir vom Urteil über Sodom und Gomorra und Lots Flucht von dort lesen.

  10. Abraham: Das Leben unseres Vaters (Teil 5)

    Diese Lektion befasst sich mit dem ultimativen Tests von Abrahams Vertrauen in Gott: Gottes Befehl an Abraham, ihm seinen Sohn, Isaak, zu opfern. Wir werden diese Glaubensprüfung und Abrahams Umgang damit besprechen und das Kapitel analysieren, in dem es um Isaak auf dem Altar geht.

  11. Abraham: Das Leben unseres Vaters (Teil 6)

    Dieses Kapitel beschäftigt sich mit dem Engel des Herrn, der Abraham daran hinderte, seinen Sohn zu opfern. An welchen Stellen der Bibel erscheint dieser Engel noch? Was wird von Abraham verlangt, statt Isaak zu opfern, und wie wird er für seinen Glauben belohnt?

  12. Isaak: Wie der Vater, so der Sohn (Teil 1)

    Nun widmen wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit der besonderen Figur Isaak. Aus unserer Bekanntschaft mit Abraham wissen wir bereits so viel über ihn und nun blicken wir noch tiefer. Wir werden über die Geschichte von Isaak und seiner Frau Rebekka lesen und sehen, wie die Geschichte sich wiederholte und dass Isaaks Schicksal dem seines Vaters in mehreren Aspekten ähnelte.

  13. Isaak: Wie der Vater, so der Sohn (Teil 2)

    Nach unserer vorherigen Lektion analysieren wir die enge Korrelation zwischen den Ereignissen in Isaaks Leben und dem seines Vaters – Abraham. Wir werden erkennen, dass diese Ähnlichkeiten alles andere als zufällig sind. Wie ist Isaaks Erfolg mit Gottes Segen verbunden? Welche Ereignisse führten zu Isaaks Neuanfang und mit welchen familiären Problemen hatte er zu kämpfen?

  14. Jakob: Ein Mann des Kampfes

    Jakob wird als der Erzvater der Israeliten betrachtet. Gottes Bund mit Abraham setzt sich mit Jakob (seinem Enkel) fort. Wir werden ausführlich besprechen, warum Jakob ein Mann des Kampfes war und wir beginnen diese Besprechung bereits bei dem Kampf mit seinem Bruder (Esau) im Leib ihrer Mutter (Rebekka).

  15. Jakob: Esaus Erstgeburtsrecht

    Wir setzen unsere Besprechung über Jakob fort und werfen einen genauen Blick auf die familiäre Dynamik zwischen Jakob und seinem Bruder Esau, sowie zwischen jedem der Brüder und ihren Eltern. Wer war wer wessen Liebling und warum? Wie entwickelte sich die Rivalität zwischen Jakob und Esau und wie reagierte Gott auf die Handlungen der Brüder?

  16. Jakob: Der gestohlene Segen (Teil 1)

    Diese Lektion befasst sich mit Kapitel 27 des Buches Genesis, das die meisten von uns als „die Geschichte des gestohlenen Segens oder des Erstgeburtssegens“ kennen. Wir werden versuchen zu verstehen, warum sich Gottes Bund mit Jakob fortsetzte, obwohl er Isaak auf unmoralische Weise täuschte.

  17. Jakob: Der gestohlene Segen (Teil 2)

    Wir setzen unsere Analyse der Geschichte des gestohlenen Segens fort, und versuchen, ihrer Logik zu folgen und die Bedeutung im ursprünglichen Text, frei von unseren modernen Vorstellungen und Sorgen, zu verstehen. Wir werden auch sehen, wie diese Erzählung über Jakob Israel porträtiert und über Jakobs Leben sprechen, nachdem er seinen Vater getäuscht hat.

  18. Jakob: Der wahre Segen

    Isaak segnet Jakob mit einem anderen Segen – dem Segen, der für ihn bestimmt war. In diesem Kapitel besprechen wir den wahren Segen, sowohl für Jakob selbst als auch in größerem Rahmen für die Bedeutung und Fortsetzung von Gottes Bund mit den Erzvätern Israels.

  19. Jakobs Traum

    Eine der bekanntesten Begegnungen eines Menschen mit Gott in der Bibel ist der Traum von „Jakobs Leiter“. Wir werden über den Traum sprechen, versuchen, uns die Leiter vorzustellen, und Gottes Botschaft und Versprechen an Jakob diskutieren.

  20. Jakobs Exodus

    Gott trägt Jakob auf, nach Kanaan zurückzukehren, also bereitet Jakob sich darauf vor, Haran zu verlassen und sich endlich seinem Bruder zu stellen. Doch Laban will ihn nicht gehen lassen. In diesem Kapitel lesen wir über Jakobs Flucht, seine Zeit außerhalb von Haran und seine Rückkehr in das Haus seines Vaters. Wir werden auch über den Humor und die Ironie sprechen, die die Ernsthaftigkeit dieser Geschichte begleiten.

  21. Jakob: Die Gefahr der Heimkehr

    Laban und Jakob schließen einen Pakt und beenden ihren Streit friedlich. Wir sprechen darüber, was sie einander versprochen haben. Nun, da Jakob frei ist, kehrt er nach zwanzig Jahren heim. Dies ist die letzte Stufe von Jakobs Kampf mit seinem Bruder und er muss Esau erneut gegenüber treten. Wir werden sehen, wie sich die Ereignisse von Jakobs Heimkehr seine innere Veränderung im Laufe dieser Jahre widerspiegeln und was für ein Mann er geworden ist.

  22. Jakob: Die Dinge ins Lot bringen

    Endlich begegnen sich Jakob und Esau. In dieser Lektion werden wir Jakobs Gebet zu Gott wenige Augenblicke vor dem gefürchteten Treffen besprechen. Dann wenden wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit Jakobs Entschädigung und Geständnis zu. Wer war der Mann, mit dem Jakob in der Nacht kämpfte, bevor er Esau traf, und wie führte diese Begegnung dazu, dass sich Jakobs Name in Israel änderte?

  23. Jakob: Die zwei wichtigen Treffen

    Jakobs neuer Name deutet auf eine Änderung seiner Identität hin. Der Mann, der seinen Namen erhielt, weil er seinen Bruder an der Ferse ergriff, existiert nicht mehr, er ist nicht mehr Jakob. Wir werden über die Bedeutung des Namens „Israel“ sprechen. Unseren Einblick in Jakobs Leben werden wir mit einer Diskussion über die unerwartete Gnade beenden, die Esau Jakob bei ihrem Treffen zeigte.

  24. Die Geschichte Josefs (Teil 1)

    In diesem Kapitel beginnen wir unsere Besprechung der letzten biblischen Figur in diesem Kurs – Josef. Wir werden lesen, wie Jakob (Israel) Josef bevorzugte, welchen Unmut dies bei Josefs Brüdern hervorrief und wie sie einen Plan schmiedeten, ihn deswegen zu töten. Letztlich werden wir darüber sprechen, wie die Brüder Josefs Verschwinden ihrem Vater erklärten, und darüber, wie ihr Verrat mit Jakobs eigenen Handlungen in seiner Vergangenheit zusammenhängt.

  25. Die Geschichte Josefs (Teil 2)

    Zu Beginn werden wir ein wenig von Josef abschweifen und über bestimmte Ereignisse im Leben eines der Brüder Josefs – Juda – sprechen. Wir werden besprechen, warum diese „Juda-Unterbrechung“ in der Mitte von Josefs Geschichte nicht ungerechtfertigt ist. Dann werden wir zu Josef zurückkehren, der nun in Potifars Haus ist, und sehen, wie Gottes Versprechen anhält und sich in Josefs Erfolg in Ägypten zeigt.

  26. Die Geschichte Josefs (Teil 3)

    In diesem Kapitel werden wir von Josefs Treue zu Gott (und Potifar) lesen und darüber, wie diese zu seiner Gefangennahme führt. Wir werden von Josefs Fähigkeit lesen, Träume zu interpretieren, als er den ägyptischen Hofleuten die Bedeutung ihrer Träume erklärt, in der Hoffnung, so dem Gefängnis zu entkommen.

  27. Die Geschichte Josefs (Teil 4)

    Zwei Jahre sind vergangen und die Hofleute haben nichts getan, um Josef dabei zu helfen, dem Gefängnis zu entkommen. Doch dann hat der Pharao selbst zwei Träume, die niemand interpretieren kann. In dieser Lektion sprechen wir über die Träume des Pharaos und über seine Dankbarkeit gegenüber Josef. Wir werden sehen, wie sich Josefs Stellung in Ägypten radikal verändert – vom Gefangenen wird er zur rechten Hand des Pharaos.

  28. Die Geschichte Josefs (Teil 5)

    Die Geschichte Josefs setzt sich mit der Beschreibung seines Lebens in Ägypten während der sieben fruchtbaren Erntejahre fort, besonders mit seiner Frau und seiner Kindern. Dann, zu Beginn der Jahre der Hungersnot, erreichen wir den Wendepunkt der Geschichte, als Josefs Brüder sich unwissentlich an ihn wenden, um Hilfe zu suchen. Diese Begegnung zwischen Josef und seinen Brüdern werden wir ausführlich besprechen.

  29. Die Geschichte Josefs (Teil 6)

    Während wir uns dem Ende von Josefs Geschichte nähern, lesen und sprechen wir darüber, wie er die Absichten und Gefühle seiner Brüder auf die Probe stellt. Bereuen sie, was sie getan haben? Wird Josef seinen Brüdern vergeben und sich wieder mit seiner Familie vereinen?

  30. Die Geschichte Josefs (Teil 7)

    Wir beenden unsere Geschichte über Josef und auch unseren Kurs mit dieser letzten Prüfung, die Josef für seine Brüder geplant hat. Judas Bereitschaft, Benjamins Platz in der Gefangenschaft einzunehmen, führt dazu, dass Josef sich ihnen offenbart und mit seinen Brüdern versöhnt. Wir werden Josefs emotionale Reaktion „bezeugen“ und sehen, wie die Prophezeiung, die Josef einst in einem Traum erhielt, sich endlich erfüllt.

Close

Melden Sie sich online an und erhalten Sie exklusiven Zugang zu weiteren Inhalten

Zusätzlich zum Kurs erhalten Sie Zugang zu unseren Live-Webinaren sowie zu unseren aufgezeichneten Webinaren zu faszinierenden biblischen Themen. Es ist Zeit, tiefer in die Heilige Schrift einzutauchen und Ihren biblischen Horizont zu erweitern.

Eine Lernumgebung, die Sie unterstützt

Online-Forum – Stellen Sie Fragen, wann immer Sie wollen
Lehrer und Schüler führen offene Diskussionen über Kursthemen
Zugang zur Aufzeichnung Ihrer Live-Unterrichtsstunde
Live-Stunde verpasst? Keine Sorge, sehen Sie sich einfach die Aufzeichnung an
Technischer Support – 24 Stunden, 7 Tage die Woche
Bei technischen Problemen stehen wir Ihnen hilfreich zur Seite
Zusätzliche Praxislektionen
Eine wöchentliche Q&A-Sitzung zusätzlich zur regulären Unterrichtsstunde

HABEN SIE EINE FRAGE?

  • Wie ist der Ablauf des Kurses?

    Wir erteilen Live-Online-Unterricht: Ein Lehrer und eine kleine Gruppe von Schülern treffen sich einmal pro Woche zu Hause am Computer. Dank Videokonferenz-Technologie ist eine Interaktion zwischen Schülern und Lehrer möglich. Per Mikrofon oder Chat können in vollem Umfang am Unterricht teilnehmen.

  • Was ist, wenn ich eine Stunde verpasse?

    Keine Sorge. Alle Live-Stunden werden aufgezeichnet und sind auf Abruf verfügbar. Sie können sie jederzeit noch einmal anschauen.

  • Welche Qualifikationen haben die Lehrer?

    Alle unsere Lehrer besitzen ein Lehrerzertifikat und sind von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem zugelassen. Sie alle sind Experten von führenden Universitäten auf der ganzen Welt, darunter die Hebräische Universität Jerusalem, die Harvard University und die Durham University.

  • Wie lauten die Stornobedingungen?

    Sie können Ihre Kursteilnahme bis zu 7 Tage nach Ihrer Anmeldung stornieren und erhalten eine vollständige Rückerstattung, sofern Ihr Kurs noch nicht begonnen hat. Um unsere Stornobedingungen zu lesen, klicken Sie bitte hier.

     

    Falls Sie Ihre Teilnahme stornieren möchten, beachten Sie bitte, dass virtuelle Klassenzimmer wie andere Klassenzimmer auch eine begrenzte Kapazität haben. Die Nachfrage nach unseren Kursen ist groß und eine späte Stornierung kann zur Folge haben, dass anderen Schülern ein Platz im beginnenden Semester blockiert wird.

     

    Schüler, die ihre Teilnahme stornieren möchten, haben entsprechend der folgenden Bedingungen Anspruch auf eine teilweise Rückerstattung:

     

    •  100 % Rückerstattung (0 % der Kursgebühr fällig): Bis zu 7 Tage ab dem Datum Ihrer Anmeldung, sofern Ihr Kurs noch nicht begonnen hat.
    •  75 % Rückerstattung (25 % der Kursgebühr fällig): Stornierung vor Ihrer ersten geplanten Unterrichtsstunde.
    • 25 % Rückerstattung (75 % der Kursgebühr fällig): Bis zu 30 Tage ab Ihrer ersten geplanten Unterrichtsstunde.
    • 0 % Rückerstattung (100 % der Kursgebühr fällig): Mehr als 30 Tage ab Ihrer ersten geplanten Unterrichtsstunde.

     

    Um unsere vollständigen Stornobedingungen zu lesen, klicken Sie bitte hier.

  • Zeitzonen des Kurses – zu welcher Uhrzeit beginnt der Unterricht?

    Der Unterricht findet von Sonntag bis Freitag statt, je nach Ihrer lokalen Zeitzone. Wir laden Sie ein, sich den Stundenplan anzusehen und sich für eine Zeit einzuschreiben, die für Sie am günstigsten ist.

  • Muss ich für die Kurse eine spezielle Ausstattung anschaffen?

    Alles, was Sie brauchen, ist ein funktionierender Computer mit Internetverbindung. Das war’s. Wir arbeiten mit den Betriebssystemen Windows und Mac.

  • Kann ich in Raten zahlen?

    Ja, Sie können in 9 monatlichen Raten zahlen.

Discovering the Hebrew Bible

Course Description

When you read your bible in translation, do you feel there is more to these words than meets the eye? Now, even without learning the Hebrew alphabet and grammar, you can still discover the depths of the bible as we unearth new insights together, and rediscover the hidden treasures of the Hebrew Bible.

This course follows the journeys of the main characters in the Book of Genesis. Starting with Adam and Eve, we will ask ourselves how this divine couple fell from grace. We will move on to the generation of the flood, focusing on Noah’s righteousness. For the majority of the course, we will discuss the lives of the patriarchs and the tests of faith they had to undergo, to prove themselves worthy.

When do our courses start?
We have a few starting dates so you can choose the class that best suits your schedule. Our next class starts on Sunday, August 16 at 1:00 PM. If you are interested in one of our classes click on the schedule below to start the registration process.

Select your preferred class time
All times are in GMT+-5
6:05pm
Wed, Aug 19
6:05pm
19 Aug 2020 - 19 Apr 2021 Starts at 6:05pm | GMT+-5 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now

Syllabus Summary

  1. Adam: His Failure And His Hope (part 1)

    Adam & Eve are the most well-known couple in the history of the world; they cannot be examined separately from each other. In this chapter, we will discuss the first and second creation as well as God's provision for both humans and animals.

  2. Adam: His Failure And His Hope (part 2)

    In this chapter we will examine the life Adam in the Garden of Eden, discuss the story of Eve's creation, the tree of knowledge and the fall of Adam and Eve.

  3. Adam: His Failure And His Hope (part 3)

    In this chapter, we will see what happens to Adam & Eve, as well as to the serpent, after their fall. What is God's punishment for each of them?

  4. Noah: The Life of New Adam (part 1)

    In this chapter, we meet Noah and we will try to grasp Noah as a biblical character as well as the events associated with him. We will discuss Noah's generations and his role as the new Adam - the hope of the fallen world.

  5. Noah: The Life of New Adam (part 2)

    In this chapter, we will discuss God's grace to Noah during the Flood as well as Noah's obedience to all God's commands. What covenant did God make with Noah and how did he bless Noah and his sons?

  6. Abraham: The Life of Our Father (part 1)

    Abraham is one of the Bible’s favorite characters. He is considered to be “the father” of Judaism, Christianity and Islam. During this lesson, we will discuss Abraham's early years and his call from God to continue on to the Promised Land. We will also learn about Abraham's visit to Egypt and his parting ways with Lot.

  7. Abraham: The Life of Our Father (part 2)

    We continue learning about Abraham's life and this time we will talk about the Lord's reaffirming of the promise after Lot had parted from Abraham. Then we will discuss Abraham's obedience to the Lord's commands, his daring mission to rescue Lot from captivity and the events that followed.

  8. Abraham: The Life of Our Father (part 3)

    The next chapter of the Bible begins with a vision of God coming to Abraham to promise him protection and rewarding. In this chapter, we will talk at length about Abraham's rewards and God's great promise to him as well as the covenant they made.

  9. Abraham: The Life of Our Father (part 4)

    One of the things Abraham is famous for is definitely the birth of his son Isaac at such an old age, both Abraham's and his wife. We will read about the heavenly visitors sent to Abraham by God and the news they brought with them. We will also discuss the judgment of Sodom and Gomorrah and Lot's escape from there.

  10. Abraham: The Life of Our Father (part 5)

    This lesson we will deal with the ultimate test of Abraham’s trust in God: God's request of Abraham to offer his son, Isaac. We will discuss this challenge of faith and how Abraham handled it and we will analyze the chapter dealing with Isaac on the altar.

  11. Abraham: The Life of Our Father (part 6)

    This chapter deals with the Angel of the Lord that stopped Abraham from sacrificing his son. Where else in the Bible does this Angel appear? What is Abraham asked to do instead of sacrificing Isaac and how is he rewarded for his faith?

  12. Isaac: Like Father, Like Son (part 1)

    We now turn our attention to the special character that is Isaac. We already know so much about him from our acquaintance with Abraham and now we look even deeper. We will read about the story of Isaac and his wife Rebekah and see how history repeated itself and that Isaac's destiny resembled his father's in more than one way.

  13. Isaac: Like Father, Like Son (part 2)

    Following our previous lesson, we analyze the close correlation between the events in Isaac's life and in that of his father - Abraham. We will come to see that these resemblances are in no way coincidental. How is Isaac's success related to God's blessings? What are the events that lead to Isaac's new beginning and what family problems did he deal with?

  14. Jacob: A Man of Struggle

    Jacob is considered the patriarch of Israelites. God's covenant with Abraham continues through Jacob (his grandson). We will discuss at length why Jacob was a man of struggle and we will begin this discussion as early as the struggle with his brother (Esau) in their mother's (Rebekah's) womb.

  15. Jacob: Esau’s birthright

    We continue our discussion on Jacob and look closely at the family dynamics between Jacob and his brother Esau, as well as between each of the brothers and their parents. Who was whose favorite and why? How did the rivalry between Jacob and Esau evolve and what was God's reaction to the brothers' actions?

  16. Jacob: The Stolen Blessing (Part 1)

    This lesson deals with chapter 27 of the Book of Genesis, known to most of us as "the Story of the Stolen Blessing". We will try to understand why God’s covenant continued through Jacob despite the unethical tricking of Isaac.

  17. Jacob: The Stolen Blessing (Part 2)

    We continue to analyze the story of the stolen blessing while following its logic and seeking to grasp the meaning in its original text free from our modern ideas and concerns. We will also see how this narrative about Jacob portrays Israel, and talk about Jacob's life after having deceived his father.

  18. Jacob: The Real Blessing

    Isaac blesses Jacob with a different blessing – the blessing that was meant to him. In this chapter, we will discuss the real blessing both in regard to Jacob specifically and on a larger scale in terms of the meaning and continuity of God's covenant with the patriarchs of Israel.

  19. Jacob’s Dream

    One of the most famous human encounters with God in the Bible is the dream of “Jacob’s Ladder”. We will talk about the dream, try to imagine the ladder and discuss God's message and promise to Jacob.

  20. Jacob’s Exodus

    God tells Jacob to return to Canaan and so Jacob prepares to leave Haran and finally face his brother. But Laban doesn't want to let him go. In this chapter, we will read about Jacob’s escape, this time away from Haran, and back to his father’s house. We will also discuss the humor and irony that accompany the seriousness of this story.

  21. Jacob: The Danger of Home coming

    Laban and Jacob make a pact and end their dispute in peace. We will talk about what they promised to each other. Now that Jacob is free, he returns home after twenty years. This is the final stage of Jacob’s struggle with his brother and he must come face-to-face with Esau once again. We will see how the events of Jacob's coming home process demonstrate his internal change over these years and what kind of man he came to be.

  22. Jacob: Making Things Right

    Jacob and Esau finally meet. During this lesson, we will discuss Jacob's prayer to God moments before the dreadful meeting. We will then turn our attention to Jacob's restitution and confession. Who was the man that Jacob fought the night before meeting Esau and how did it lead to the change of Jacob's name to Israel?

  23. Jacob: The Two Important Meetings

    Jacob's new name is indicative of a change in his identity. The man, whose name was given to him due to his grabbing of his brother's heel, no longer exists, he is not Jacob anymore. We will talk about the meaning of the name "Israel". We will finish our acquaintance with Jacob's life with a discussion about the unexpected grace that Esau showed Jacob upon their meeting.

  24. The Joseph Story (part 1)

    In this chapter, we will begin our discussion of the final Biblical character for this course - Joseph. We will read about Jacob's (Israel's) favoritism of Joseph, the resentment it caused among Joseph's brothers and their plot to kill him for it. Finally, we will talk about the brothers' explanation of Joseph's disappearance to their father and how their deceit relates to Jacob's own actions in the past.

  25. The Joseph Story (part 2)

    As we begin, we will deviate a bit from Joseph and talk about certain events in the life of one of Joseph's brothers - Judah. We will talk about why this "Judah Interruption" in the middle of Joseph's story in not without reason. We will then return to Joseph, who is now in Potiphar’s house, and see how God's promise keeps on and manifests in Joseph's success in Egypt.

  26. The Joseph Story (part 3)

    In this chapter, we will read about Joseph faithfulness to God (and Potiphar) and how it lead to his imprisonment. We will learn about Joseph's dream interpretation skills as he explains to the Egyptian ministers the meaning of their dreams, hoping it would help him get out of prison.

  27. The Joseph Story (part 4)

    Two years have passed and the ministers have done nothing to help Joseph out of prison. This until the Pharaoh himself has two dreams no one can interpret. This lesson we will talk about the Pharaoh's dreams and his gratitude to Joseph. We will see how Joseph's state in Egypt radically changes from a prisoner to the Pharaoh's right hand.

  28. The Joseph Story (part 5)

    The story of Joseph goes on to describe his life in Egypt during the seven fruitful harvest years, particularly his wife and children. Then, as the years of the famine began, we reach the pivotal point of the story where Joseph's brothers unknowingly turn to him for help. We will discuss at length this meeting between Joseph and his brothers.

  29. The Joseph Story (part 6)

    As we come closer to the end of Joseph's story, we read and talk about his testing of the brothers' intentions and feelings. Are they sorry for what they have done? Will Joseph forgive his brothers and reunite with his family?

  30. The Joseph Story (part 7)

    We finish our story of Joseph and this course with the final test planned by Joseph for his brothers. Juda's willingness to take Benjamin's place in captivity leads to Joseph revealing himself and to reconciliation with his brothers. We will "witness" Joseph's emotional response and see how the prophecy once given to Joseph in a dream will finally be fulfilled.

Close

Register online and get exclusive access to extra content

In addition to the course you will gain access to both our live and recorded webinars on fascinating Biblical topics. It’s time to discover new depths in the Scripture and broaden your biblical horizons.

You’re about to begin a new Biblical journey

The registration process takes a minute and is required to secure your spot in the class.
In case you decide to cancel your participation within 7 days from registration you will be able to receive a full refund

Following the online registration process our academic adviser will contact you to finalize the registration process.
  • Course Duration:32 weeks, 9 months
  • Schedule:Starting {{start_date}} - {{end_date}} Every {{week_day}} from {{class_time_start}} to {{class_time_end}}
  • Location:Online

All our courses include

Online Forum
Ask questions any time
Teachers and students have open questions regarding course topics
Access to recordings of your live lessons
Missed your live lesson? Don't worry, simply view the recording
Technical Support
available 24/7
We are here to help you with any technical issue
Extra Practice Sessions
A weekly Q&A session in addition to the regular lesson

Have a Question?

  • How does the course work?

    We teach live classes online: a teacher and a small group of students meet once a week through their home computer. We use video conference technology that allows live student-teacher interaction. You can fully participate in the lesson by using the microphone or the chat box.

  • What if I miss a lesson?

    Don’t worry all the live lessons are also recorded and available on demand. You can review them at any time.

  • What qualifications do your teachers have?

    All our teachers have a teaching certificate and are approved by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. They are all scholars from leading universities around the world, including the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Harvard and Durham University.

  • What is your cancellation policy?

    You may cancel your course up to 7 days after registration and get a full refund, unless your course has already started. To see our cancellation policy, click here.

    In case you have decided to cancel your participation please note that virtual classrooms, like any other classrooms, have limited capacity. Demand for our classes is high and late cancellation prevent other students from obtaining a spot in the upcoming semester.

    Students who wish to cancel their participation are entitled to a partial refund as seen below:

    100% Refund (0% of course tuition due): Up to 7 days from the date of your registration, unless your course has already started.
    75% Refund (25% of course tuition due): Cancellation prior to your 1st scheduled lesson.
    25% Refund (75% if course tuition due): Up to 30 days from your 1st scheduled lesson.
    0% Refund (100% of course tuition due): After 30 days from the 1st scheduled lesson.

    To read our full cancellation policy, click here.

  • Class time zones – what time do your classes start?

    We teach Sunday to Friday according to your local time zone. You are welcome to check the schedule and assign yourself to a time that’s most suitable to you.

  • Do I need to purchase special equipment for the courses?

    All you need is a working computer with an internet connection and you’re set. We work with Windows and Mac operating systems.

  • Can I pay in installments?

    Yes, you can pay in 9 monthly installments.