Le Contexte juif du Nouveau testament

Initiez-vous aux études théologiques, historiques, littéraires et archéologiques juives et chrétiennes et découvrez ce qui relie les deux traditions.

Un nouveau cours est sur le point de commencer
Ne ratez pas cette chance !
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

Description du cours

Course Main Takeways
  • Date de début
    août 06, 2017
  • Horaires hebdomadaires
    2 heures
  • Durée
    9 mois
  • Langue
    Français
See Full Schedule
août 2017
dimanche, 18:00-18:55
août 2017
dimanche, 15:00-15:55
lundi, 18:15-19:10

Etudier divers thèmes qui relient les études juives et chrétiennes et découvrez l'importance de l'ancien judaïsme pour comprendre le Nouveau Testament.

Pour en savoir plus

Responsable du cours

Dr. Eli Lizorkin Eyzenberg

Dr. Eli Lizorkin Eyzenberg

Dr Eli Lizorkin-Eyzenberg est un universitaire israélien spécialisé dans l’histoire de l’Église ancienne et moderne. Il a reçu une riche éducation juive et chrétienne, religieuse…

Profil complet

Résumé du programme de cours

  1. Leçon n°1 - « Les paradigmes traditionnels reconsidérés »

    Nous lisons la Bible à travers le prisme des traditions reçues. Des interprétations qui nous sont parvenues à travers les siècles. La plupart de ces interprétations supposent qu'il y ait eu un « christianisme » séparé et distinct du « judaïsme », immédiatement après Jésus. Certaines de ces interprétations placent même cette séparation du vivant de Jésus. Dans cette leçon, nous découvrirons comment le « mouvement de Jésus », ou la « secte de Jésus », est resté un groupe juif des décennies durant, après la destruction du temple de Jérusalem.

  2. Leçon n°2 - « Les manuscrits de la mer Morte et l'étude du Nouveau testament »

    Cette leçon montrera comment les manuscrits de la mer Morte peuvent être utiles pour comprendre les idées actuelles via la culture dans laquelle le Nouveau testament a été écrit.

  3. Leçon n°3 - « Samariens et Samaritains : repenser la femme samaritaine »

    Cette leçon étudiera plus en profondeur le caractère de la femme samaritaine dans Jean 4, dans le contexte de l'identité samaritaine, la vision des Juifs et des Samaritains les uns envers les autres, au premier siècle de notre ère, et l'essence du dialogue entre Jésus et la femme samaritaine placée au centre du lieu de culte.

  4. Leçon n°4 - « Jean, les Juifs et le judaïsme : repenser l'histoire de Lazare »

    Cette leçon réexaminera la représentation des « Juifs » dans l'Évangile de Jean. « Juifs » est une traduction erronée du mot grec « Ioudaioi », qui signifie réellement « Judéens ». Dans cette leçon, nous verrons comment le scribe de l'Évangile utilise le terme « Ioudaioi » pour représenter un sous-groupe de chefs du temple de Jérusalem et les habitants de Judée, et non pas comme un conflit religieux entre « Juifs » et « Chrétiens ».

  5. Leçon n°5 - « Josèphe Flavius et l'étude du Nouveau testament »

    Cette leçon étudiera les écrits de l'historien juif Josèphe Flavius et comment ces écrits peuvent aider à combler certaines lacunes dans notre compréhension du contexte historique du Nouveau testament.

  6. Leçon n°6 - « Les mouvements juifs selon Josèphe Flavius »

    Les écrits de Josèphe Flavius nous permettent de mieux comprendre les différentes sectes juives du premier siècle de notre ère, à savoir les Pharisiens, les Sadducéens, les Zélotes et les Esséniens. Nous étudierons chacune d'entre elles, sauf les Esséniens, dans les Évangiles. Nous verrons également dans cette leçon les caractéristiques de chacune de ces sectes, pour mieux comprendre leur place dans le Nouveau testament.

  7. Leçon n°7 - « La doctrine du logos juif et les deux puissances dans le ciel »

    Les idées juives du logos, « le mot », existaient avant l'époque de Jésus et ont permis de mieux comprendre sa doctrine, notamment « Le verbe s'est fait chair », dans Jean 1. Dans cette leçon, nous étudierons le développement et les concepts des idées juives du Logos, notamment la croyance, dans certains cercles juifs, qu'il y avait un deuxième être divin dans le ciel qui partage le nom de Dieu et la divinité, tout en étant distinct de Dieu le Père.

  8. Leçon n°8 - « Les Juifs et l'hellénisme : repenser la guérison de Béthesda »

    L'hellénisme, un mot qui signifie « grec-ification », a eu une influence majeure sur la pensée juive au premier siècle de notre ère. Jérusalem n'était pas une exception, car la ville était fortement influencée par les pensées grecques et romaines. Nous étudierons quelques-unes de ces pensées, -ci, notamment la possibilité que le bassin de Béthesda, présenté comme le lieu de l'une des guérisons de Jésus dans Jean 5, peut avoir été un centre de guérison païenne connu comme un asclépéion, dédié au dieu de la guérison, Asclepius. Loin de « paganiser » l'Évangile, cela indiquerait que Jésus cherchait des Israélites perdus.

  9. Leçon n°9 -« Les premiers disciples juifs de Jésus et de la Torah »

    Cette leçon étudiera ce que le Nouveau testament lui-même dit sur la Torah. Quelle était l'attitude de Jésus envers la Torah ? Comment les disciples de Jésus ont-ils vu la Torah ? Contrairement à des siècles de tradition reçue qui interprètent le Nouveau testament comme annonçant la fin de la Torah, nous verrons que Jésus, les disciples, et l'apôtre Paul ont en fait honoré, pratiqué et renforcé la Torah.

  10. Leçon n°10 - « Jésus parmi les rabbins : explorer de nouvelles idées »

    Jésus peut être vu, avec raison, comme le précurseur de la tradition des sages juifs, soucieux de bien interpréter la Torah. Cette leçon montrera comment Jésus peut être considéré comme un rabbin du premier siècle.

  11. Leçon n°11 - « La judéité des quatre évangiles »

    Quel évangile est le « plus juif » ? Lequel est le « moins juif » ? Nous entendons souvent que Mathieu est « le plus juif » et que Jean est « le moins juif », mais est-ce vrai ? Dans cette leçon, nous étudierons quels facteurs, dans chaque Évangile, peut être identifié comme juifs, et lesquels peuvent être replacés dans un contexte plus païen. Nous étudierons également les « facteurs disqualifiants » et verrons s'ils indiquent vraiment une provenance non juive ou vise un public non juif, pour chaque Évangile.

  12. Leçon n°12 - « Les hébraïsmes dans le Nouveau testament »

    "Les « hébraismes », caractéristiques de la langue hébraïque apparaissant dans les textes grecs du Nouveau testament, nous aident à placer ces textes dans une origine solidement juive. Nous étudierons certains hébraïsmes du Nouveau testament et explorerons ce que leur présence signifie pour notre compréhension de ces portions des Écritures.

  13. Leçon n°13 - « Le Nouveau testament déjudaïsé : illusion ou réalité ? »

    Le processus consistant à dépouiller de toute « judéité » les textes du Nouveau testament et de les faire paraître plus « chrétiens » existe depuis des siècles et affecte la façon dont nous lisons et comprenons ces textes. Dans cette leçon, nous étudierons certains aspects du Nouveau testament qui ont été « déjudaïsés » de cette façon, et nous nous plongerons dans la langue originale pour redécouvrir la judéité des textes.

  14. Leçon n°14 - « Judaïsme rabbinique : l'histoire, les textes, et les traditions »

    Nombre d'idées et de concepts clés du Judaïsme rabbinique, c'est-à-dire le judaïsme tel qu'il s'est développé après la destruction du temple de Jérusalem, en 70 de notre ère, existaient déjà, dans les temps plus anciens. Le premier siècle de notre ère reflète les premiers stades de ce développement. Nous étudierons cette étape formative et découvrirons comment la compréhension des premiers développements de l'interprétation de la Torah éclairent notre lecture de Jésus dans le Nouveau testament.

  15. Leçon n°15 - « Hillel, Shammaï et l'enseignements de Jésus »

    En s'appuyant sur la dernière leçon sur le judaïsme rabbinique, cette leçon explorera certains enseignements clés de deux sages célèbres, Hillel et Shammaï, et dans quelle mesure leurs méthodes d'interprétation de la Torah et les écoles de pensée qu'ils ont établies ont perduré dans la période du Nouveau testament au point d'avoir un poids pour Jésus dans ses discussions avec ses opposants.

  16. Leçon n°16 - « Merkavah dans le mysticisme juif : anomalies dans le judaïsme rabbinique »

    Merkavah, ou « char » en hébreu, le mysticisme était populaire dans certains milieux juifs avant et pendant l'époque de Jésus. Nous lirons des exemples dans Ezéchiel et Daniel, ainsi que dans des textes juifs non bibliques. Ce phénomène du judaïsme prolonge le thème des « Deux puissances dans le ciel » et fournit un contexte dans lequel les croyances de Jésus comme être divin se développent.

  17. Leçon n°17 - « Ruth et Naaman : les deux chemins au Dieu d'Israël »

    Le premier mouvement de Jésus a été mêlé à un débat engagé sur les Gentils qui cherchaient à être baptisés et s'allier à Dieu par le biais du Messie d'Israël : « Que faisons-nous de ces Gentils ? Comment les recevons-nous ? Exige-t-on qu'ils se convertissent complètement au judaïsme, ou leur permettons-nous d'entrer en tant que Païens, sans changer de statut national/ethnique ? » Cette leçon étudiera ce débat par le biais de ces deux questions, illustrées par deux exemples, Ruth, dans la Bible, et le capitaine araméen Naaman, dans 2 Rois 5. Nous verrons quel chemin le Conseil de Jérusalem des Actes 15 a décidé d'exiger de la part des Gentils.

  18. Leçon n°18 - « La révélation de Jean : une apocalypse juive »

    Nous étudierons le Livre de l'Apocalypse comme une œuvre foncièrement juive, empruntée au genre de la littérature apocalyptique.

  19. Leçon n°19 - « Les Juifs, les Païens et les dieux : comprendre le monothéisme antique »

    Cette leçon étudiera le « théisme » répandu dans l'antiquité : le hénothéisme, le concept selon lequel tous les dieux existent, mais un seul doit être adoré. Nous étudierons les preuves de cette croyance dans les Écritures en Israël. Nous étudierons ensuite l'ancienne croyance consistant à dire que tous les dieux ont tissé des relations familiales et des alliances avec des groupes de personnes et nous étudierons les déclarations de l'apôtre Paul sur les divinités païennes et ce que les Gentils doivent prendre pour eux.

  20. Leçon n°20 - « Les jours saints d'Israël : étude du calendrier juif »

    Cette exploration du calendrier sacré d'Israël nous permettra d'associer les fêtes et les jeûnes à des observations du Nouveau testament, appliquées à la vie de Jésus dans les Évangiles. Nous verrons aussi comment ces fêtes et ces jeûnes ont été proscrits à mesure que le christianisme s'est développé au cours des siècles.

  21. Leçon n°21 - « Israël dans le monde romain »

    Dans cette leçon nous étudierons les attitudes romaines païennes envers les juifs et le judaïsme, la place du judaïsme dans le vaste monde romain et le rôle du statut dans la société romaine et dans le mouvement de Jésus.

  22. Leçon n°22 - « L'Évangile juif dans la cité romaine »

    Cette leçon expliquera comment l'Évangile, en tant que manière d'être juif, s'est répandu dans tout l'Empire romain par le biais des apôtres. Comment l'Évangile a-t-il été reçu dans une culture qui considérait la conversion du paganisme romain à une secte juive comme une trahison nationale et ethnique ?

  23. Leçon n°23 - « Manger avec les Gentils : Tensions sur la souillure »

    Cette leçon étudiera la communion de table entre les Juifs et les Gentils dans l'antiquité, comment cela a été traité dans le mouvement de Jésus, et quelles étaient les exigences pour les Gentils.

  24. Leçon n°24 - « Redécouvrir Paul le Juif »

    Dans cette leçon, nous verrons l'apôtre Paul comme un Juif apocalyptique du premier siècle. Loin de se convertir du judaïsme à un christianisme qui n'existait pas encore, Saul/Paul n'a jamais cessé d'être juif, mais est venu à croire que Jésus de Nazareth était le Messie d'Israël, passant d'une manière d'être juif à l'autre.

  25. Leçon n°25 - « Le Shema de Paul et les Nations »

    Cette leçon étudiera comment le Shema, la grande prière d'Israël, « Écoute, Israël : L'Éternel est notre Dieu, l'Éternel seul ! », a renseigné la théologie de l'apôtre Paul et son point de vue sur la manière dont les Gentils devraient être introduits dans le mouvement de Jésus.

  26. Leçon n°26 - « Les Romains et les Galates en contexte »

    Cette leçon se concentrera sur l'importance vitale de la lecture et de la compréhension des lettres écrites aux Romains et aux Galates dans le contexte de l'auditoire à qui chaque lettre a été adressée. Dans chaque cas, l'apôtre Paul écrivait à une communauté confrontée à ses propres problèmes et préoccupations. Nous étudierons ces lettres individuellement afin de bien discerner ce que chaque lettre dit à l'auditoire visé et la relation entre les Gentils et les Juifs dans les congrégations romaines et galates.

  27. Leçon n°27 - « Le stigmate de la circoncision »

    Cette leçon étudiera les opinions païennes et juives sur la circoncision et ira encore plus loin dans la controverse au sein du mouvement de Jésus concernant la circoncision des Gentils. Nous restituerons le débat sur la circoncision dans le contexte de la lettre de Paul aux Galates et de l'interdit fortement prononcé par l'apôtre à l'attention des Galates sur la circoncision.

  28. Leçon n°28 - « Le droit, la promesse et l'allégorie de Paul »

    Nous allons encore une fois étudier la lettre aux Galates, cette fois en considérant l'allégorie de Paul des « deux mères », Sarah et Hagar. Nous verrons que l'utilisation de Paul de cette allégorie attribue un statut d'héritier de convenance aux Gentils.

  29. Leçon n°29 - « Les Juifs, les Nations et les autres »

    Cette leçon portera sur le concept de statut social et national dans l'Empire romain, et comment ce concept a influencé l'entrée des Gentils dans le mouvement de Jésus, tant du point de vue d'Israël que du point de vue de l'Empire romain, qui considéraient ces Gentils comme des traîtres. Les Gentils, et non les Juifs, n'étaient pas entièrement romains non plus ; ils avaient un statut intermédiaire. Bien que conscients d'être acceptés par Dieu en tant que Gentils, sans changer de statut ethnique, un tel lieu liminal les aurait menés à la persécution sociale. Ne pas être Israélites tout en refusant d'offrir des sacrifices à l'empereur a remis en question leur loyauté envers leurs voisins, leurs associés et le gouvernement.

  30. Leçon n°30 - « Un nouvel homme et la confusion d'identité »

    En s'appuyant sur la dernière leçon, notre dernière conférence portera sur le « nouvel homme » tel qu'il est espéré par l'apôtre Paul : Les Juifs et les Gentils restant Juifs et Gentils, mais vivant comme un seul foyercar le Christ avait brisé « le mur de séparation » (Eph. 2:14-15). Les Gentils se sont alliés à Dieu et partagent les promesses faites à Israël par l'offrande du Christ. Nous verrons comment cette vision originale de l'unité peut être retrouvée, même des siècles après le rêve délaissé de Paul.

Programme complet du cours
Un nouveau cours est sur le point de commencer – Le Contexte juif du Nouveau testament
Ne ratez pas cette chance !
test
test
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354
test
  • Israel +972

  • Algeria +213
  • Brazil +55
  • Chile +56
  • Island +354

The Jewish Background of the New Testament

Course Description

When you read the New Testament, do you ever feel like you aren’t really seeing the whole picture? To truly understand, we need to forgo the modern reading of the New Testament and look back at the historical, cultural and archeological view of Jerusalem in the 1st century.

This course will take you on an eye-opening journey, where we reexamine the connection between Jesus’ interpretations of the Torah and various Rabbinical views. We focus on the complex personality of the Apostle Paul, his Jewish roots and orthodox views, which then shaped a new Christian vision.

When do our courses start?
We have a few starting dates so you can choose the class that best suits your schedule. Our next class starts on Monday, January 25 at 2:00 PM. If you are interested in one of our classes click on the schedule below to start the registration process.

Select your preferred class time
All times are in GMT+-6
10:00am
Mon, Jan 25
Thu, Jan 28
10:00am
28 Jan 2021 - 28 Sep 2021 Starts at 10:00am | GMT+-6 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
2:00pm
25 Jan 2021 - 25 Sep 2021 Starts at 2:00pm | GMT+-6 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now
8:05pm
25 Jan 2021 - 25 Sep 2021 Starts at 8:05pm | GMT+-6 Weekly, Class duration: 60 min Enroll now

Syllabus Summary

  1. Introduction: Traditional Paradigms Reconsidered

    We read the Bible through the lens of received traditions – interpretations that have come down to us through the centuries. Most of these interpretations suppose that there was a “Christianity” separate and distinct from “Judaism” immediately after the lifetime of Jesus. Some of these interpretations even place this separation during Jesus’ ministry. In this lesson, we will discover how the “Jesus movement” or “Jesus sect” remained a Jewish group for decades after the destruction of the Jerusalem temple.

  2. Dead Sea Scrolls and New Testament Studies

    This lesson will explore how the Dead Sea Scrolls can be useful for understanding ideas current within the culture in which the New Testament was formed.

  3. Samarians and Samaritans: Rethinking the Samaritan Woman

    This lesson will take a deeper look at the character of the Samaritan Woman in John 4, in the context of Samaritan identity, the view of Judeans and Samaritans toward one another in the first century CE, and the essence of the conversation between Jesus and the Samaritan Woman as a focus on the correct place of worship.

  4. John, Jews, and Judaism: Rethinking the Story of Lazarus

    This lesson will re-examine the portrayal of “the Jews” in the Gospel of John. “Jews” is a most unfortunate translation of the Greek word “Ioudaioi,” which really means “Judeans.” In this lesson, we will see how the gospel’s writer uses the term “Ioudaioi” to portray a sub-group of Jerusalem temple leaders and residents of Judea – not as a religious conflict between “Jews” and “Christians.”

  5. Josephus Flavius and New Testament Studies

    This lesson will look at the writings of Jewish historian Josephus Flavius and how those writings can help to fill in some of the gaps in our understanding of the historical context of the New Testament.

  6. Jewish Movements According to Josephus

    Josephus’ writings are instrumental in our understanding of various Jewish sects in the first century CE, namely the Pharisees, the Sadducees, the Zealots, and the Essenes. We read about all but one of these, the Essenes, in the Gospels. This lesson will examine the characteristics of each of these sects for a greater understanding of each one’s place in the New Testament.

  7. Jewish Logos Theology and Two Powers in Heaven

    Jewish ideas of Logos, “the Word,” existed even before the lifetime of Jesus and informed the Jesus movement’s understanding of Jesus as the “Word made flesh,” especially as we read in John 1. In this lesson, we will look at the development and concepts behind Jewish ideas of Logos, which include the belief in some Jewish circles that there was a second divine being in heaven that shared God’s name and divinity, yet was at the same time distinct from God the Father.

  8. Jews and Hellenism: Rethinking the Bethesda Healing

    Hellenism, a word that essentially means “Greek-ification,” was a major influence upon Jewish thought in the first century CE. Jerusalem was no exception, as many Greek and Roman influences had filtered into the city. We will look at a few of these, including the possibility that the Bethesda pool, featured as a place of one of Jesus’ healings in Jn. 5, may have been a center of pagan healing known as an asclepeion, dedicated to the god of healing, Asclepius. Far from “paganizing” the Gospel, this would point to Jesus’ seeking out of lost Israelites.

  9. Early Jewish Followers of Jesus and Torah

    This lesson will examine what the New Testament itself has to say about Torah. What was Jesus’ own attitude towards Torah? How did Jesus’ disciples view Torah? Contrary to centuries of received tradition that interpret the New Testament as heralding the end of Torah, we will find that Jesus, the disciples, and Apostle Paul in fact honored, practiced, and strengthened Torah.

  10. Jesus Among the Rabbis: Exploring Shared Ideas

    Jesus may accurately be seen as standing in the tradition of the Jewish sages, concerned with correct interpretation of Torah. This lesson will demonstrate how Jesus may be considered as a first-century rabbi.

  11. The Jewishness of All Four Gospels

    Which Gospel is the “most Jewish?” Which is the “least Jewish?” We often hear that Matthew is the “most” and John the “least;” but how accurate is this? In this lesson, we will consider the factors of each Gospel that might identify them as Jewish, or disqualify them from being Jewish and place them more in a Gentile context. We will also look at the “disqualifiers” and see if they truly indicate a non-Jewish provenance and/or intended audience for each Gospel.

  12. Hebraisms in the New Testament

    “Hebraisms,” characteristics of the Hebrew language appearing in the Greek texts of the New Testament, help us to place those texts in a solidly Jewish origin. We will look at some Hebraisms throughout the New Testament and explore what their presence means for our understanding of these parts of the Scriptures.

  13. New Testament Dejudiazed: Illusion or Reality?

    The process of stripping the “Jewishness” of the New Testament texts and making them sound more “Christian” has been going on for centuries, and affects the way in which we read and understand the texts. In this lesson, we will look at some aspects of the New Testament that have been “de-Judaized” in this way, and delve into the original language to re-discover the Jewishness of the texts.

  14. Rabbinic Judaism: History, Texts, Traditions

    Many of the key ideas and concepts of Rabbinic Judaism, that is, Judaism as it developed after the destruction of the Jerusalem temple in 70 CE, existed in earlier periods. The first century CE reflects the beginning stages of this development. We will study this formative stage and discover how understanding the early development of Torah interpretation informs what we read of Jesus in the New Testament.

  15. Hillel, Shammai, and the Teachings of Jesus

    Building on the last lesson on Rabbinic Judaism, this lesson will explore some key teachings of the two famous sages Hillel and Shammai, and how their Torah interpretation methods and the schools of thought that they established lingered into the New Testament period to have significance for Jesus’ debates with opponents.

  16. Merkavah Mysticism: Anomalies in Rabbinic Judaism.

    Merkavah, or “chariot,” mysticism was popular in some Jewish circles before and during the lifetime of Jesus. We read examples of this in Ezekiel and Daniel, as well as in non-biblical Jewish texts. This phenomenon within Judaism continues the “Two Powers in Heaven” theme and provides some context as a background in which beliefs of Jesus as divine developed.

  17. Ruth and Na’aman: Two Paths to Israel’s God

    The early Jesus movement was embroiled in a heavy debate about Gentiles seeking to be baptized and enter covenant relationship with God through Israel’s Messiah: “What do we do with these Gentiles? How do we admit them? Do we demand that they fully convert to Judaism, or de we allow them to come in as Gentiles, without changing their national/ethnic status?” This lesson will explore that debate in terms of the two possibilities of full conversion or God-fearer status, the former represented by the biblical Ruth, the latter by the Aramean captain Naaman in 2 Kings 5. We will see which path the Jerusalem Council of Acts 15 decided to require of the Gentiles.

  18. John’s Revelation: A Jewish Apocalypse

    We will look at the Book of Revelation as a decidedly Jewish work, fitting the genre of apocalyptic literature.

  19. Jews, Pagans, and gods: Understanding Ancient Monotheism

    This lesson will examine the “theism” prevalent in antiquity: henotheism, the concept that all gods exist but only one is to be worshipped. We will look at evidence for this belief within Israel in the Scriptures, examine the ancient belief that all gods formed family relationships and covenants with people-groups, and explore Apostle Paul’s statements on pagan deities and the approach that Gentiles-in-Christ must take to them.

  20. Israel’s Holy Days: Insights in the Jewish Calendar

    This exploration of Israel’s sacred calendar will apply the feasts and fasts to the New Testament mention of these observations, applied to Jesus’ life in the Gospels and spoken of as a matter of freedom for Jews- and Gentiles-in-Christ by Apostle Paul. We will also see how these feasts and fasts have been obscured and discouraged as Christianity developed over the centuries.

  21. Israel in the Roman World

    This lesson will examine pagan Roman attitudes toward Jews and Judaism, the place of Judaism within the wider Roman world, and the role of status in Roman society and in the Jesus-movement.

  22. Jewish Gospel in Roman Cities

    This lesson will explore how the Gospel, as a way of being Jewish, was spread throughout the Roman Empire by the apostles. How was the Gospel received in a culture that viewed conversion from Roman paganism to a Jewish sect as a national and ethnic betrayal?

  23. Eating with Gentiles: Tensions Over Defilement

    This lesson will explore table-fellowship between Jews and Gentiles in antiquity, how this was handled in the Jesus-movement, and what the requirements were for Gentiles-in-Christ.

  24. Rediscovering Jewish Paul in New Testament

    In this lesson, we will see Apostle Paul as a first-century apocalyptic Jew. Far from converting from Judaism to a Christianity that didn’t exist yet, Saul/Paul never ceased to be Jewish but came to believe that Jesus of Nazareth was Israel’s Messiah, moving from one way of being Jewish to another.

  25. Paul’s Shema and the Nations

    This lesson will examine how the Shema, the great prayer of Israel – “Hear, O Israel: The LORD is our God, the LORD alone!” – informed Apostle Paul’s theology and his view of how the Gentiles should be brought into the Jesus-movement.

  26. Romans and Galatians in Context

    This lesson focuses on the vital importance of reading and understanding the letters to Romans and Galatians in the context of the audience to whom each letter was addressed. In each case, Apostle Paul was writing to a community facing its own particular problems and concerns. We will look at these letters individually in an effort to discern what each letter is saying to it intended audience and the relationship of Gentiles to Jews in the Roman and Galatian congregations.

  27. The Stigma of Circumcision

    This lesson will look at the pagan and Jewish views on circumcision and further explore the controversy within the Jesus-movement regarding whether or not to demand circumcision of Gentiles-in-Christ. We will place the circumcision debate within the context of Paul’s Letter to the Galatians and the apostle’s strongly-worded forbidding of circumcision to the Galatians.

  28. Law, Promise and Paul’s Allegory

    We will once again explore the Letter to the Galatians, this time considering Paul’s allegory of the “two mothers,” Sarah and Hagar. We will see that Paul’s use of this allegory assigns a status of covenant heir to Gentiles-in-Christ.

  29. Jews, The Nations and Those in Between

    This lesson looks at the concept of social and national status in the Roman Empire, and how this concept affected the entry of Gentiles into the Jesus-movement, both from the standpoint of Israel and from the standpoint of the Roman Empire, which viewed such Gentiles as traitors. Gentiles-in-Christ, not Jews yet not fully Roman either, truly existed in an “in-between” status. Though they had the comfort of knowing that they were accepted by God as Gentiles, without changing their ethnic status, such a liminal place would have brought them social persecution. Not being Israelites yet refusing to offer sacrifices to the emperor brought their loyalty into question with their neighbors, business associates and government.

  30. One New Man and Identity Confusion

    Building on the past lesson, our final lecture addresses the “new man” hoped for by Apostle Paul: Jews and Gentiles remaining Jews and Gentiles, yet living as one household because Christ had broken down “the dividing wall” (Eph. 2:14-15). Gentiles are brought into covenant relationship with God and share in the promises to Israel through the self-offering of Christ. We will see how this original vision of oneness may be regained, even after centuries of Paul’s dream being neglected.

Close

Register online and get exclusive access to extra content

In addition to the course you will gain access to both our live and recorded webinars on fascinating Biblical topics. It’s time to discover new depths in the Scripture and broaden your biblical horizons.

You’re about to begin a new Biblical journey

The registration process takes a minute and is required to secure your spot in the class.
In case you decide to cancel your participation within 7 days from registration you will be able to receive a full refund

Select your preferred class time
  • January 25, 2021 - 2:00pm | GMT+-6
  • January 25, 2021 - 8:05pm | GMT+-6
  • January 28, 2021 - 10:00am | GMT+-6
Required field
Required field
Required field
Required field
Please choose country
    Required field
    Select State
    • Select State
    Required field
    Following the online registration process our academic adviser will contact you to finalize the registration process.
    • Course Duration:32 weeks, 9 months
    • Schedule:Starting {{start_date}} - {{end_date}} Every {{week_day}} from {{class_time_start}} to {{class_time_end}}
    • Location:Online

    All our courses include

    Online Forum
    Ask questions any time
    Teachers and students have open questions regarding course topics
    Access to recordings of your live lessons
    Missed your live lesson? Don't worry, simply view the recording
    Technical Support
    available 24/7
    We are here to help you with any technical issue
    Extra Practice Sessions
    A weekly Q&A session in addition to the regular lesson

    Have a Question?

    • How does the course work?

      We teach live classes online: a teacher and a small group of students meet once a week through their home computer. We use video conference technology that allows live student-teacher interaction. You can fully participate in the lesson by using the microphone or the chat box.

    • What if I miss a lesson?

      Don’t worry all the live lessons are also recorded and available on demand. You can review them at any time.

    • What qualifications do your teachers have?

      All our teachers have a teaching certificate and are approved by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. They are all scholars from leading universities around the world, including the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Harvard and Durham University.

    • What is your cancellation policy?

      You may cancel your course up to 7 days after registration and get a full refund, unless your course has already started. To see our cancellation policy, click here.

      In case you have decided to cancel your participation please note that virtual classrooms, like any other classrooms, have limited capacity. Demand for our classes is high and late cancellation prevent other students from obtaining a spot in the upcoming semester.

       

      Students who wish to cancel their participation are entitled to a partial refund as seen below:

      • 100% Refund (0% of course tuition due): Up to 7 days from the date of your registration, unless your course has already started.
      • 75% Refund (25% of course tuition due): Cancellation prior to your 1st scheduled lesson.
      • 25% Refund (75% if course tuition due): Up to 30 days from your 1st scheduled lesson.
      • 0% Refund (100% of course tuition due): After 30 days from the 1st scheduled lesson.

      To read our full cancellation policy, click here.

    • Class time zones – what time do your classes start?

      We teach Sunday to Friday according to your local time zone. You are welcome to check the schedule and assign yourself to a time that’s most suitable to you.

    • Do I need to purchase special equipment for the courses?

      All you need is a working computer with an internet connection and you’re set. We work with Windows and Mac operating systems.

    • How much does it cost?

      The total tuition for the course is $1255, however, registration starts with a trial period of 14 days that costs $ which is deducted from the total tuition.

    • Can I pay in installments?

      Yes, you can pay in 9 monthly installments.